Chapter 627 The Leprechaun Got Away Again, and Maybe Tom and Huck’s Childhood Along With Him

Do you ever wonder why I bother recording things like St. Patrick’s Day and our traditional leprechaun traps on the blog?

I do it because I knew this day would come, but I didn’t know exactly when, and I knew that when this day finally arrived, I would want to have some memories of how it used to be. I would want to remind myself that amidst all of the busy-ness that can take over family life, I stopped to savor some of the best moments.

If you’re also a mother, you may have guessed what I am about to say about this day:

No one in my house was interested in building a leprechaun trap this year. 😦

It wasn’t so much that they weren’t interested. It’s just that there are quite a few school projects to work on at the moment. And sports. And Scouts. And music. Oh, who am I kidding? They’ve always had those outside activities. Here’s what I realized today:

The days of leprechaun traps are probably over. Tom and Huck, at age 10 and almost 13, seem to have outgrown such things.

We had some good leprechaun traps in past years. I’m glad we made them. I’m glad I took the time to record Tom and Huck’s creations for my own memory. As they grow older, I miss certain things about their childhoods. The way their baby hair smelled, their missing front teeth in first grade, and their unwavering belief that they could trap as crafty a creature as a leprechaun. Looking at the pictures reminds me of the fun in those days and of the fact that I am so grateful that bookselling is a career that has usually allowed me to make my schedule around my family’s interests.

After over a decade of being a parent, I’ve had enough experience to know that every stage of childhood someday comes to an end. For example, I was a little bit sad when Huck, my youngest son, started school a few years ago. But I was reminded then that end of one stage of life is the beginning of another that also brings lots of new things to enjoy. Once both of the boys were in school, I learned how fun it was to choose lunchboxes and buy new school supplies each year. (Since I am a former teacher, I really do think those things are fun.) I also made some new friends, other parents from the school, and I did something really crazy.

I started an antiquarian book business. And I am so happy I did.

I’ll always be their mother, even though the boys will continue to grow and change. (In fact, I enjoy telling myself that they keep getting older but I am staying the same age, lol.) And because I will always be their mother, I can accept that they may not be interested in making leprechaun traps anymore, but I can also make sure that the leprechaun will still visit our house, trap or no trap.

Tom and Huck were happy to see that the leprechaun still left some treats for them. They’re not ready to totally let go of him just yet.

A Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you! See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Family Business

Leave a Reply

