Chapter 723 Scholarship Opportunity

Lots going on here at the moment. I am working hard at my new teaching job and loving every minute of it, and I also had the great opportunity to attend and sell books the California International Antiquarian Book Fair in San Francisco a couple of weeks ago — my second ABAA book fair. Of the two dozen or so fairs I have done in the past six years, this fair was the second best I have done, in terms of sales. I had such a fun week, and I long to post more about it, but time simply won’t allow it at the moment. I’m also preparing for the Sacramento Antiquarian Book Fair on March 23 and busy running Tom and Huck to their various sports activities — Crew (rowing) for Tom and basketball and football for Huck. I keep reminding myself that summer is coming and that, though I’m busy now, I have lots of plans for the blog come summer!

I do have some other news, however, that I thought all of you new antiquarian booksellers and aspiring antiquarian booksellers might like to know:

Northern California Chapter (NCC)

of the Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association of America (ABAA)
George Robert Kane Memorial Scholarship
Application for Summer/Fall 2013

In memory of long-time member George Robert Kane (Oct. 6, 1913 – Nov. 28, 2009), the Northern California Chapter of the Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association of America announces the availability of an Educational Scholarship. In the interest of promoting professionalism and education relevant to the antiquarian book trade, persons currently working in or actively pursuing a career in the book trade are especially encouraged to apply. The Scholarship will pay tuition cost (to $1,250) for participation in a course of study offered by the following programs in the Summer/Fall of 2013:

California Rare Book School (Los Angeles)
Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar (Colorado Springs)
Rare Book School (Charlottesville, Virginia)

Applications will be accepted until 5:00 p.m., May 10, 2013. The NCC/ABAA will notify scholarship applicants of its award decision via email by May 26, 2013. Scholarship applications may be submitted via an email attachment to the Chapter Secretary, Chris Lowenstein, at chris AT bookhuntersholiday DOT com or by regular mail to Chris Lowenstein, Chapter Secretary, c/o Book Hunter’s Holiday, 3182 Campus Drive #205, San Mateo, CA 94403.

To apply for the NCC/ABAA Educational Scholarship, please provide the following:

• A completed copy of the application form.
• A personal statement or essay (no longer than two pages) in which you describe your past or current experience in the world of rare books, your goals for the future, and what you hope to gain from the studies afforded by this scholarship.
• Professional references or letters of recommendation are welcome, but not required.

Please email Chris Lowenstein (me!) at the address listed above to obtain an application form.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment