Chapter 595 Happy Thanksgiving 2010

When I look back at the year in bookselling, I find I am grateful for many things. A few things in particular stand out for me this year:

1) First and foremost, I am thankful for my health. Having Whooping Cough for nearly three months kept me from achieving some of the bookselling goals I had set for myself this year. Between taking time off and then (still) trying to catch up, it was, at times, frustrating to be ill for such a prolonged amount of time. I have learned not to take good health for granted and to be grateful that the Whooping Cough wasn’t any worse than it was.

2) I am thankful that, after three years of buying, researching, and learning, I finally reached a bookselling milestone that I promised myself I would reach no matter what: I issued my first print catalogue.

3) I am thankful that I was asked to participate in and that the Dante collection made a cameo appearance in a short, documentary film that appears on a video game disc for Electronic Arts video game, Dante’s Inferno. I learned a lot about video games that I hadn’t known before and I like to think that perhaps my small contribution introduced the idea of book collecting to a few potential book collectors.

4) I am thankful that I became a member of the Independent Online Booksellers Association (IOBA) this year. This is a great organization with many resources for booksellers and customers alike.

5) I am thankful that Fine Books & Collections Magazine is back in its traditional print format. I savor the day when each new issue arrives and I can sit with a pot of hot tea and a big bar of chocolate and read it cover to cover.

6) I am thankful to make occasional contributions again to BookThink and the Fine Books and Collections blog. Thankful, too, for joint posts with The Private Library (here and here).

7) I am thankful for my customers, especially this year a couple of librarians who had never heard of me but who took a chance on some of the books from my Dante catalogue.

8) I am thankful for you, the reader(s) of this blog. Thanks for reading and thanks to those of you who’ve corresponded with me. It’s nice to know that someone in addition to my mom reads my blog, and it’s been fun to read about some of your own book collecting and book selling adventures.

9) I am thankful for the wonderful colleagues I have met and who have encouraged me, helped me, mentored me, and shared their love of books with me. The antiquarian book business is a terrific business, but it is made even more wonderful by the people I have encountered along the way.

10) Last but not least, I am so thankful for Thoughtful Husband, Tom and Huck, and my own parents. They have all supported me unconditionally in my quest to become a bona fide antiquarian bookseller. One of my favorite memories of this year was the day that my son, Tom, came with me to help set up for the San Francisco Antiquarian Book Fair last February. I have no idea whether this day is memorable to him other than for all the boxes he had to unload from the Bookmobile. Still, I was really happy to show him that an antiquarian bookseller does lots more than sit in front of a computer screen in the dining room. It was also the day when I distributed the Dante catalogue to the other booksellers at the fair, something I’d been waiting to do for three long years. Tom’s presence made that day extra special for me.

There are other things I had hoped to accomplish this year, but I’ll try for 2011, and there’s plenty more for which to be grateful, but the above are the highlights of 2010 to date. Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving!

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, A Family Business, Catalogues

Leave a Reply

