Chapter 596 Gearing up for the Week ahead

We’re back from our annual sojourn to the home of Thoughtful Husband’s sister and her family. It was, as always, a spectacular and delicious Thanksgiving dinner. I consider myself fortunate to have married into a family where great thought and planning goes into every part of the meal.

I’ll be playing a bit of catch up this week, doing things like unpacking, grocery shopping, and laundry. I’m not going to write a post about any of those things. Luckily, a few interesting book-related things are on the agenda for the week. First, The American Experience: 1630-1890 auction will be held at Bonhams in New York this Thursday, December 2. It will also be simulcast here in San Francisco. I look forward to learning the results of this sale.

Second, I am preparing to sell books in a new and different venue. A local school holds an annual Holiday Home Tour, complete with its own “boutique” of items for sale. I have been asked to bring and offer for sale any Christmas-related books, any books that are not necessarily significant for traditional book collectors but which look pretty on a shelf (the type of books interior decorators or people who enjoy “shelf decoration” seem to like), and any book-art that I have — all while keeping the prices in Christmas gift range. I have little idea whether this will be a successful venture, but as it’s only one day out of my life and it exposes those who are not yet book collectors to the fact that choosing books as objects can be a fun and interesting way to shop, I thought I’d give it a try. One perk of the job: I am sharing my table at the boutique with a longtime and dear friend of mine (we’ve known each other since we started high school at age 14) who makes handmade cards. At the very least, we will have fun sitting at a table and visiting for several hours without our children around to interrupt us. At best, we can both sell some of our wares.

Last but certainly not least is that I plan to have lunch with a bookseller friend on Friday. A fun end to a busy week!

I hope your week is off to a good start, too.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Family Business, Auctions

Leave a Reply

