Chapter 709 Barter Books, Or, The Story of “Keep Calm and Carry On”

I have a goal in mind. Some may call it a fantasy, but it’s real. It’s a goal. I will do it some day, even if it’s not for years. (Oh, my, this goal is starting to sound a lot like Catalogue #2.) My goal is to take a literary tour of England. I’ve been there once before, years ago, for a few days shortly after graduating college. I visited some of the usual tourist spots — London (the British Library!), Stratford (birthplace of Shakespeare!), Cambridge (I liked it so much when I visited that I sent my parents a postcard asking them to send money so I could stay and go to school there — they didn’t).

Even though I’ve been lucky enough to visit England once, I didn’t have enough time to see many of the places I wanted to. I’d like to go to London Rare Books School. I’d like to tour the Lake District (home of Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth and other poets). I’d like to visit Oxford. I’d like to tour a grand old country house. I’d like to enjoy tea and a scone the British way. But most of all, when I return, I’d like to visit the bookshops of England.

I was reminded of my goal of visiting England and its bookshops when I saw this video today about Barter Books, which is one of the most beautiful bookshops I’ve seen in a while.

I’m adding this place to the list of things I’d like to see when I get to England some day. I think you should, too. Meanwhile, Keep Calm and Carry On!

See you in the stacks!

6 Comments

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, A Family Business, Book Related Products, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chapter 709 Barter Books, Or, The Story of “Keep Calm and Carry On”

  1. Rebecca

    I’ll go with you! I bought a book from Barter’s a few months ago. Had I known THIS is what it looks like, I might have picked it up in person!

  2. Joanne Hoefer

    I have always wanted to do the auctions houses course in London.As the saying goes, If wishes were horses, and I didn’t own to many I would be able to do so.

  3. Thanks for sharing this marvelous video…I bought my poster (and another as a gift) from Barter Books before it became all the rage…now I’m even more resolute in visiting their shop…so many travels, so many books and so little time…

Leave a Reply

