Chapter 691 Checking In

After weeks of mild, sunny winter weather without a drop of rain here in the Bay Area or snow in the mountains, it is finally cold and raining today. It may be mid-January, but winter has just arrived in San Mateo.  I’m cozy indoors today, and am taking a brief tea break to stop in and say hello.

I’ve been working on preparing for the February book fairs this week. Preparing starts with taking an inventory of book fair supplies.  Since I’ll be doing the fairs in San Francisco and Pasadena one right after the other, it’s crucial that I have enough supplies. If you’re not a bookseller, you might be surprised to see the amount of supplies needed for a book fair.  And if you are a bookseller, you might like to know what I recommend you bring to a book fair. The supply list I compiled was created with the help and advice of quite a few experienced booksellers, and you can see it by clicking here.

Once the supplies are ready, the next step in book fair preparation is to check each of many pieces of ephemera I’ll bring to the fairs and to make sure each piece is stored in its appropriately sized plastic sleeve and that each sleeve has a price sticker on it. Ephemera — flat, small, and easy to store, but I have a lot of it, and  pricing it can take a while!

Over the weekend, I plan to catalogue about a dozen books, recent acquisitions I plan to bring to the fair. This will be simple in some cases and will require a bit of research in others. Either way, I’m looking forward to having the weekend to work. Did I mention that both Tom and Huck’s basketball teams have a bye this week? That means no games this weekend, which means no driving kids to and fro in the car. It means that while they play with the neighbors, I can work on books (which, to me, is like play). If I’m lucky (and I think I’m pretty lucky), Thoughtful Husband may even volunteer to take on the task of cooking dinner Saturday night.

All work will temporarily be halted on Sunday at 3:30 p.m. That’s when our San Francisco 49ers will play the New York Giants to see if, after 18 long years and decades after the end of the Joe Montana, Dwight Clark, Jerry Rice, Roger Craig, Ronnie Lott, Steve Young “dynasty”, they will go to the Superbowl! Note to diehard sports fans who may read this blog:  I do not normally follow professional football, but my 11-year-old son Huck does. He’s had me watching each 49er game, and when I watch it with him, I enjoy it in a way that I hadn’t before. It kind of reminds me of one of my favorite films, Rudy, and of how that little football movie inspires me in so many ways, even though I sell books instead of playing football. When it comes to following football, I am what some might call a “bandwagon” fan.  That is to say that I follow football when my hometown team is winning — much the same way I followed baseball when the Giants finally won the World Series of Baseball in 2010. Perhaps not a “true” fan in that sense of the word, but happy when my hometown teams make us proud.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

