Chapter 686 Winter Reading List

Since my previous post was all about reading, I thought I should update my reading list (over there on the right sidebar of the blog) so I can share with you books I recently either bought or borrowed from the library because I think I will enjoy them. Perhaps you will, too, though I know that literary tastes vary. That’s part of what makes books fun. I often learn about books I have never heard of from you, readers of this blog. Several times you have recommended books to me and most of the time they are books I enjoy.  Here’s my winter reading list:

The Prague Cemetery, by Umberto Eco

Reamde, by Neal Stephenson

My Life as Laura: How I Searched for Laura Ingalls Wilder and Found Myself, by Kelly Kathleen Ferguson

The Provincial Lady in Wartime, by E.M. Delafield

As Always, Julia: The Letters of Julia Child and Avis DeVoto: Food, Friendship, and the Making of a Masterpice, Edited by Joan Reardon

Mrs. ‘Arris Goes to Paris, by Paul Gallico

Stillmeadow and Sugarbridge, by Gladys Taber and Barbara Webster

Spencer’s Mountain, by Earle Hamner, Jr.

 
I know it’s likely that some of you may be surprised that I would enjoy a domestic novel like Mrs. ‘Arris Goes to Paris and novels written by authors in completely different genres, like Umberto Eco (literary/historical/philosophical) and Neal Stephenson (science and cyber fiction). These seem to have nothing in common with another. Well, I’ve said it before and I will say it again (with all credit due to Walt Whitman):  “I am large. I contain multitudes.” As most of you no doubt realize by now, I like books of all sorts.

Winter seems the perfect time for hunkering down with a good book, a warm fire, and a cup of tea (or your beverage of choice). What’s on your reading list this winter?

2 Comments

Filed under Book Finds

2 responses to “Chapter 686 Winter Reading List

  1. Bill

    Ooh new Neal Stephenson book! How did I miss that; just ordered now. Let us know how you like them. Several sound interesting.

Leave a Reply

