Chapter 681 For My Friends Who Keep Chickens

This is the front cover of a book I have. Bound in decorative red cloth embossed in black, the cover features a color pastedown of a woman feeding her chickens.  It probably comes as no surprise to you that my Little- House-on-the-Prairie-lovin’ self would love to keep chickens.  Though I know several people who keep backyard chickens, I haven’t yet made the leap to doing so. But for those of you who have chickens or who want to (hi Elizabeth S.), I’m posting this for you. Like you, I dream of pretty varieties of chicken and fresh eggs.

The book above is called Better Than Rubies:  Stories for the Young Illustrative of Proverbs. Published in 1873, it has a chromolithograph frontispiece (same image as on the cover) and 62 black and white illustrations.  A charming book. Makes me think that I might get started on some backyard chickens of my own. Then again, I’m a bit of a dreamer. Instead of owning a book about the specifics of raising poultry, I own the one that has nothing to do with poultry but has a pretty picture on the cover. I think that’s probably a good indication that I’m not ready to raise my own chickens just yet.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Finds

Leave a Reply

