Chapter 667 Autumn Goals 2011

Listen.

Do you hear that?

That’s the sound of a quiet house, a house where the children have returned to school.

Excuse me for just one minute while I enjoy a cup of tea and a bit of chocolate and a good read in peace and quiet.

I’m done now. Thank you.

I always think that summer is going to be less busy than the school year. And while there is less homework and fewer sports practices, summer is a really just different kind of busy — visits to and from relatives, trips to places we don’t have time to see during the school year, and kids and their friends in and out of the house all day. It’s been a real eye opener to me this summer to see just how much growing boys eat. (Tom is now 13 and Huck will be 11 in a few days.) Other than buying and selling books, joining the ABAA, having a couple of books repaired, and planning for fall book fairs, I didn’t accomplish much with regard to the book business. I mostly kept it status quo.

I thought I would write most of Catalogue #2 this summer, but that just didn’t happen. I usually get upset when I set a lot of goals and fail to meet them, but if I didn’t set the goals in the first place, I’d never make progress on anything. I don’t feel too bad about not writing Catalogue #2.  I still need to make a few more acquisitions to round out the collection.  I’ve also been working on some more immediate sales that will help keep cash flow going while I work on Catalogue #2. Doing so has given me time to think, research, and read about the subject of Catalogue #2, which will help me write it when the time comes.

What are the goals for the September and October, 2011?

1) Catalogue many new acquisitions made during the summer in time for the Sacramento Antiquarian Book Fair on September 17 and the Seattle Book Fair on October 8 and 9. (If you’d like a free pass to either or both fairs, please let me know by leaving a comment or sending an email to chris @ bookhuntersholiday DOT com.)

2) Print individual descriptions of books for sale on nice cardstock for display at the book fairs.

3) Get new business cards before the fairs. I am thinking of having the cards printed at a new letterpress print shop which recently moved from San Francisco to my hometown of San Mateo.

4) Write, edit, and print multiple copies of a Bulletin, a sort of mini-catalogue/list of a collection of bookish ephemera I’ll be bringing to Seattle. I like to call this type of ephemera biblio-ephemera.

Now that vacation is over and school has started, there’s more to come tomorrow. I had time to read a few great books about books over the summer, and I look forward to telling you about them.

See you in the stacks!

1 Comment

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, Organization, Uncategorized

One response to “Chapter 667 Autumn Goals 2011

  1. This post was so cool to read! It’s amazing how the pace of seasons can change so much. I can’t wait to have my own book hunter holidays!

Leave a Reply

