Chapter 659 What Are You Going To Do Next? Or, When You Wish Upon A Star, Your Dreams Come True

Sorry for the absence of posts the past 10 days. I didn’t want to announce to the entire internet (also known as “all three of my readers”) ahead of time that I would be traveling. Quite a few months ago, my parents, my brothers and their families, and our family decided it was time to celebrate my parents’ birthdays and to have a family reunion. As my brothers and their broods live in Southern California, we met up in Disneyland for a few days of fun with all the kids (five of them ranging in age from 22 months to 13) and then stayed at my youngest brother’s home for a few days after that. We even got to visit a couple of friends from high school and college. We’re back now, and “regular” (whatever that means) blog posting will resume shortly.

Thank you so very much to all who left a congratulatory comment or sent me an email about my new membership in the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America (ABAA). If you’re wondering why I didn’t respond to your kind messages directly, it’s because I was out of town. I have an iPad and a cell phone to check email, but I abhor typing on a small screen and I was busy riding the Flying Dumbo with my youngest niece, Perfect Child, the cute one who makes me forget all about business whenever she is in my sight. I was also chasing after Tom and Huck and my other niece and nephew, who are 8 and 10. They kept trying to convince me that I would LOVE riding the Thunder Mountain Railroad roller coaster in the dark. (And they succeeded.) Basically, I try to make vacation time solely about spending time with my family, so I keep my online time to a minimum when I’m traveling for pleasure.

I just want to say to you, dear reader, somewhat belatedly due to my travels, that I really, really appreciate all those who read this blog and those who encouraged me along the way. Any time I got discouraged with trying to build an antiquarian book business or wrote about some of the mistakes I’ve made as I learn the trade, it was comments and emails like yours that made me keep working at achieving my goal. Book Hunter’s Holiday is a real “wish upon a star”, to use a Disney-esque term — something I hoped I could do, but wasn’t sure I could. No doubt, it’s thanks to many helpful people along the way, so thank you for helping me to make my wish come true.

I think it was kind of funny that the trip to Disneyland began exactly one day after I learned that the ABAA accepted my application for membership. I’ve wanted to become a member of the ABAA since I started Book Hunter’s Holiday, and I’ve worked as hard as I can to make sure that happened. I was reminded of this silly commercial from my youth:

“Chris Lowenstein, you just joined the ABAA! What are you going to do next?”

“I’m going to Disneyland!”

If actually asked that question, I think I would have to change my response just a little bit:

“I’m going to get to work on Catalogue #2!”

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Family Business, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

