Chapter 641 Blog Remodel: Thanks for Telling Me What You Like and What You Don’t

Thanks so much to all who gave feedback on the blog’s new look, whether by comment, email, or telephone.  It really helps me to know how the blog looks on your computer (or cell phone or iPad). I’ve received both praise and gentle criticism for the new look, which suggests to me that there are a few improvements that can still be made.

I’ve been told that on some browsers the dark brown background of the blog looks black, so in the next few days I will be experimenting with a different color scheme that is lighter in tone. The background should look brown, but not so brown it appears black.

I’ve also had a few people sign up for email subscriptions and I was notified of those subscriptions, but when someone else tried to sign up tonight (Tuesday), clicking on the subscription button took her to a blank screen, so I’ll try to resolve that issue as well. I’ll let you know when the problem is resolved so that if you’d like to sign up for a “subscription” to have new blog posts from this blog delivered to your email inbox, you can do so.

If you are reading the blog on an iPhone or an iPad, you should be able to read it just fine, but when viewed from these devices, the layout and color scheme of the blog look completely different from the way they look on a computer because the iPhone and iPad use mobile browsers to “read” online content. Apparently, these are different than a computer browser. (I am a total amateur when it comes to understanding how technology actually works. I just know that usually it does work.)  Once I resolve the issues on the computer version of the blog and reach a “final” format, I will adjust the layout for mobile browsers as well.

I am so glad to have had so many responses. It’s my desire to make this blog a place you enjoy visiting (perhaps with a cup of tea in hand).  I also want to make it a worthwhile resource for those who want to learn more about book collecting and bookselling. Additionally, I want the blog to link to my store website so I can sell a few books along the way.  It’s going to take a bit more revision to get everything to work in harmony, but I think I can do it in the next several days.

Thanks for your patience while the remodel continues. I’ll be back just as soon as I can.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, Internet Resources for Booksellers and Book Collectors, Organization

Leave a Reply

