Chapter 640 Unveiling the New Look

Tom and Huck were both busy with plans of their own this weekend, which meant that, strangely, I had plenty of time to work on books virtually uninterrupted. This is a rare weekend occurrence and I did not let it go to waste. It was a productive weekend, as I re-modeled and updated this blog, attended an antiques fair across the San Francisco Bay, and went to an auction in Silicon Valley.  It’s late Sunday as I type this, and I am now ready to relax with a book and some tea. Iced tea, that is. The sun finally broke through in the Bay Area today and it is nearly 80 degrees fahrenheit.

If you’re reading this blog, thank you. I’d love it if you take a look at the new layout and color-scheme and let me know what you think. I’ll point out a few of the differences and new features. A few things still need a little tweaking, but this amateur is glad to have managed the changes I did make.

If you’re reading this post through RSS subscription or a blog reader such as Google Reader, you might want to click through to the actual blog today so you can see the changes for yourself. You can click here to see the re-vamped version of the blog.

1) New menu feature at the top of the home page.

Eventually, I plan to re-design the Book Hunter’s Holiday online bookstore, and, when I do, I hope it’s format will look similar to the blog. Why? I don’t really know. I like symmetry. I like people to know that the blog and the bookstore are related.  I plan to use the menu at the top of the blog on my bookstore website as well in order to unify the two sites. You can use the menu to read about how Book Hunter’s Holiday got started, to access the blog home page, and to shop the online antiquarian bookstore. Under News and Events, you can access any news articles that feature Book Hunter’s Holiday (yeah, wishful thinking, I know, but there have actually been a couple over the years). Under Catalogues and Bulletins, you will find images and a downloadable PDF of all (one of) my catalogues and some of the one-item bulletins I’ve written for book fairs.  Under the last section, Helpful Resources, you will find links to all sorts of places such as the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar, Rare Book School, auction record subscriptions, bookseller associations, and book collecting organizations.

2) On the left sidebar, you will find a link to the Book Hunter’s Holiday bookstore, our IOBA (Independent Online Booksellers Association) badge, the story of the Book Hunter’s Holiday logo (drawn by my great-grandmother), an explanation of what makes an antiquarian bookseller different from other booksellers, and a list of books I’m currently reading.  A while ago, a reader asked if there was any way to subscribe to this blog by email. I am happy to say that you can now do that, and you will find the subscription link on the left sidebar, too.

3)  On the right sidebar, you will find a downloadable PDF our most recent catalogue, a feature that allows you to search the blog for past posts, the five most recent posts, the top 10 most-read posts, and a search field for Categories and blog Archives.  I’ve also updated my blogroll, removing any links that are no longer in operation and updating a few whose blogs have migrated to new addresses.

4) You’ll find content, the heart of the blog, unchanged, right smack in the middle of the page.  As much as I like the ability to add more nifty features, I suspect (hope?) that most of you are here for the content. I know I am. I’m writing the blog to keep a record of my life as an antiquarian bookseller.  All of my book finds, sweet triumphs, ridiculous failures, and ongoing social awkwardness will continue to appear here.  If you like a particular post, there is a feature that will allow you to email the link to a friend or share the post via Facebook, Twitter, and a few other social network services. Your ability to leave comments and let me know what you’re thinking remains the same. Simply read to the bottom of a post and fill out the comment box.

I hope you’ll find that these changes make the blog easier to use and more dynamic. If, in your travels through various parts of the blog, you note a feature that doesn’t work like it should or doesn’t make sense or detracts from the blog as a whole, please leave a comment and let me know.

Last but not least, thank you for your readership. A few of you have been reading since the beginning, and I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed knowing that others have followed my progress as a bookseller (Hi, Mom!) and getting to know a few you via comments and even in person.

See you in the stacks!

4 Comments

Filed under Internet Resources for Booksellers and Book Collectors, Organization

4 responses to “Chapter 640 Unveiling the New Look

  1. Larry

    I have been a long time follower of your blog and have just read through the latest edition. I have to say I like the layout and the graphic at the top. My only complaint would be the color. I believe something a little brighter would attract more people. I applaud your work however. I know from expierence that designing and maintaining a blog isn’t an easy thing to do.

    • Many thanks for sharing your opinion, Larry, and for being a longtime reader. I am still considering whether darker or lighter colors are the best option when it comes to reading. I may test out a different option in the next day or two. If you have time, I’d like to know which appeals to you once you see the second option. Thanks!
      Chris

  2. Chris:
    Very nicely done!
    Larry

Leave a Reply

