Chapter 623 My Fantasy Vacation, Or, Little House on the Mexican Riviera

You may remember the RV trip across the western United States our family took a couple of years ago. On that trip, we had such a fun time staying at the Laura Ingalls Wilder Homestead and visiting Wilder’s hometown of DeSmet, South Dakota.

It’s nearly spring, and, as Chaucer told us many years ago in his Canterbury tales, spring is the time when people long for a vacation. (Well, Chaucer said something kind of like that). Maybe it’s time for another vacation. 🙂

Below: Canterbury pilgrims

From the Beyond Little House Blog, I now have a fantasy vacation about which I can dream: A Little House on the Prairie Cruise!

That’s right.

A cruise.

On the Mexican Riviera.

For one whole week.

Here’s the best part —

The cruise is with some of the cast from the Little House on the Prairie TV show.

Now, I know that some people who like love Laura Ingalls Wilder are fans of only the books while others are fans of only the 1970s TV show. I happen to be a fan of both the books and the TV show. The TV show was broadcast weekly when I was a little girl, and it was because I liked the spunky Laura Ingalls in the show so much that I decided to read the books written by the actual Laura Ingalls Wilder. It’s partly because of those books that I am the person I am today.

Here are the details: LittleHouseCruise

I understand that this type of event is not everyone’s “cup of tea.” I know a few people (Thoughtful Husband, Tom, Huck — ahem) who are rolling their eyes. I probably won’t be going on this fabulous trip, because it’s during the school year for Tom and Huck, but a girl can dream.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Laura Ingalls Wilder, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

