Chapter 622 Sidebar Update

It’s been a long time since I updated the right sidebar column of this blog. I’ve updated my “What I’m Reading” section to reflect a few recent and current reads. I have had the books about life with a rare bookman by Mrs. Percy Muir listed there for a while and just haven’t seemed able to get to them, but I will eventually. Even though it’s not a new book, I recently read Charles Portis’ 1968 novel True Grit. Watching the new version of the movie spurred my desire to read the book. I wish I could have taught this book to my students in the days when I used to teach high school English. There is so much to work with — a page-turning plot, themes of good and evil and all that lurks in between the two, choice of narrator, choice of setting, and rich language. Everyone should read this book (if you haven’t already in the 42 years since it was originally published). I found myself wishing it was non-fiction. It would have pride of place in my pioneer women collection if it were. Perhaps I should expand the fiction portion of that collection beyond the stories of Laura Ingalls Wilder?

I’ve also added a few new blogs to the Blogroll. Cherished Books and Travels With Books are two blogs by ladies who are new to the trade, so go check out their sites and read all about what it’s like to open your own shop and to be a bookseller in Australia.

On Tuesday a friend and I are driving in to San Francisco to see a fabulous fashion/art exhibit at the Legion of Honor Museum. The costumes in the exhibit are all made of paper! You have to check out the photos to believe what it looks like. Click here to see a few.

A paper confection created by artist Isabelle de Borchgrave

At the same museum is also an exhibit of the fabulous artist and illustrator (of books!) Arthur Szyk. Local bookseller and Szyk expert Irvin Ungar curated the exhibit. After the museum, we will, of course, stop for tea. 🙂 It should be a great day, and I’ll post pictures if one is allowed to take photos in the museum.

Arthur Szyk illustration

I hope your week is off to a good start as well. See you in the stacks!

1 Comment

Filed under Blogroll, Book Finds, Uncategorized

One response to “Chapter 622 Sidebar Update

  1. Thank you for adding Travels With Books to your blogroll. I’m honored!

Leave a Reply

