Chapter 619 Thursday Night Progress Report

Hello, there. It’s 9:00 pm Thursday evening and I thought I’d check in and let you know how I’m doing while working with one hand tied behind my back the kids home from school all this week.

Remember my list of too-many-things-to-do-by-Friday?

Well, I’m slowly chipping away at it. I’ve input all my invoices from the recent Pasadena Book Fair into BookHound, the software I use for managing my inventory. I’ve also finally prepared my 2010 tax information for my accountant. I meet with him tomorrow. What should be a simple activity always take me hours, and when my kids are home while I am sorting through 12 months of sales, cost of goods sold, and expense receipts, it takes me days. At least now I am finished.

Until next year.

I still have to work my way through the rest of my list, but I’ll get there, eventually.

In exciting weather news, snow is actually in the forecast for the San Francisco Bay Area in the next 48 hours. The last time it snowed here was in 1976. I was . . . oh, forget how old I was then! Suffice it to say that it was a long time ago and I was a good deal younger than Tom and Huck are now. If it does snow here, I fully intend to spend the day outside with Tom and Huck. We can pretend that we live in a place with a real winter. I’ll be sure and post photos if it does actually snow. Right now, I’ve got to make sure we have some firewood, some hot cocoa, and all the fixings for tomato soup, grilled cheese sandwiches, and chocolate chip cookies. (What I imagine people eat who live in an area with an actual winter.)

See you in the stacks!

4 Comments

Filed under Organization, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Chapter 619 Thursday Night Progress Report

  1. I read your entire blog. From the beginning – I just finished tonight with this post. No, I’m not some crazy stalker! I’m a new bookseller, as in opening a B&M shop March 11. Before I had any how-to resources, I decided to see what I could learn from your experiences and started last fall. You are 3-4 years ahead of me. Thanks so much for sharing what you’ve learned!

    • Elizabeth,

      Wow! Thank you so much. I am happy my blog could be a useful resource for you. One of the reasons I started this blog a few years ago was that I couldn’t find many useful internet resources for people new to bookselling, especially antiquarian bookselling. I wrote the blog mainly to keep a record for myself of starting the business and of useful advice I received along the way. It is really nice to know that my experience has helped someone else. Good luck to you in your new venture — I really hope to have an open shop one day, myself, so I’d love to hear from you anytime about your own experiences with a brick and mortar store. Thanks again for reading the blog!

      Chris

  2. Hi Chris
    I am also a fairly new bookseller, but of the online variety, and your blog was recommended to me, so like Elizabeth I aim to work my way through and read of your experiences. Enjoying it heaps so far!

    Robyn

    • Thanks for letting me know my blog has been useful for you. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying it. It’s always nice to correspond with another new bookseller, too, so keep in touch. Thanks again for reading the blog.

Leave a Reply

