Chapter 600 All I Want for Christmas is a New Dishwasher

December is always a busy month in our house, and, to date, I never seem to accomplish much book work during the last month of the year. This year it’s been a typical busy December. It’s the start of basketball season for both Tom and Huck. Because they are different ages, they each play on a different team in two different locations. This means a lot of time spent in the car and away from the comforts of home.

So, about a week ago, our 15-year-old dishwasher finally gave out. Thoughtful Husband and I quickly selected a new one. The first one was delivered and the insulation between the door panel and the inside of the dishwasher was so wet it left a puddle on the floor. We returned it. Another dishwasher (same model) was delivered and it, too, had the same problem. We sent it back as well. A week later and we are still without a dishwasher, which is not too big of a problem. The only real downside is that it takes extra time to clean up after a meal and it takes time to keep shopping for reliable dishwashers (read: it takes time away from other things like blogging, selling books, and decorating a Christmas tree).

I was lucky enough to attend the Northern California Chapter Holiday Dinner for the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America. Mr. Z was kind enough to take Thoughtful Husband and me as his guests. It was a fun dinner, complete with a raffle and auction, and a chance to visit with other booksellers I usually only see in person at book fairs.

I also sold books at a holiday boutique over the weekend. I shared a table at the boutique with a friend I have known since I was 14. We had a good time selling items and enjoyed the opportunity to visit with each other all day long. Here are a few photos (a little fuzzy, but you can get a general idea) of my books and my friend Jeanne’s handmade cards and photography:

I’ll be back tomorrow with some images of Christmas-themed books.

See you in the stacks!

1 Comment

Filed under A Family Business, Book Fairs, Uncategorized

One response to “Chapter 600 All I Want for Christmas is a New Dishwasher

  1. Pingback: Chapter 602 Christmas Books, Part 2 « Book Hunter’s Holiday

Leave a Reply

