Chapter 573 “Insults from the Bard on every Card”, Or, Playing Poker with Shakespeare

If you’ve read this blog for a while, you might know that I not only love books, I love book-related items that appear in popular culture.

For example, there was this find in my recent Dante Catalogue:

And some time ago I wrote about Shakespearean Insult Chewing Gum:

Seeing the printed book alluded to in popular culture helps me maintain my faith in and love of printed books.

Last week, I went to San Francisco with my friend Cathy to see this museum exhibit and to eat lunch at the charming Lovejoy’s Tea Room. Lovejoy’s is more than just a tea room. They also sell all kinds of vintage goodies. Amongst the tea cups, old photographs, and vintage embroidered table linens, I found and had to have these:

Created by San Francisco’s very own Prospero Art, the playing cards feature, “clever and cutting insults from the Bard on every card”. The art featured on the cards are watercolored pen and ink drawings by Jan Padover, and are inspired by some of the masters of art history. Here are just a few (click on the image below to enlarge):

Prospero Art also features another set of Shakespearean playing cards, Shakespearean greeting cards, and what look to be a very cute set of Alice in Wonderland playing cards:

I and few other booksellers I know have discussed on several occasions putting together a little bookseller poker game after a book fair, but, for various reasons, it has never materialized. Maybe it will at the San Francisco ABAA fair in February. I think we may have found the perfect cards for our game.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Related Products

Leave a Reply

