Chapter 567 Don’t Forget to Sign Up for the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar

It’s only a month until this year’s Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar. I’ve written about the useful lessons, great colleagues, and long-lasting benefits of attending this seminar many times in the past three years. I attended in August, 2007, and the things I learned from other booksellers, librarians, and collectors in one short week are things I use every day in my business. If you’re thinking about becoming an antiquarian bookseller and aren’t really sure exactly what that entails, the seminar can help. If you’re new to the business (and in the antiquarian bookselling business, that would mean less than 20 years in business), the seminar can help. If you’ve been in business a few years, but still need to learn more about things like pricing, housecalls, and auctions, the seminar can help. If you need a general overview of the book trade, the seminar can help.

Check the links below to see why I think the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar is such a worthwhile educational experience.

10 Good Reasons Why You Should Consider Attending the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar

How I Benefited from Attending the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar.

I’m not the only one who thinks the seminar is worthwhile. Book Think Editor Craig Stark interviews the Seminar’s faculty and alumni to see what all the fuss is about.

I know it’s short notice at this point, but if you can make the dates for this year’s Seminar (August 8-13, 2010), I highly recommend it! Feel free to leave any questions you may have about the Seminar in the comment box below, and I’ll do my best to answer them or to ask a Faculty member if I can’t answer the question myself.

See you in the stacks!

2 Comments

Filed under A Bookseller's Education

2 responses to “Chapter 567 Don’t Forget to Sign Up for the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar

  1. Hope everything’s okay. It looks like you’ve been too busy to blog in awhile.

    • How nice to hear from you and how kind of you to check in on me! I really regret not having blogged in such a long time. Unfortunately, my husband and I both got Whooping Cough (Pertussis) this summer and were sick for about 12 weeks. I was exhausted from being sick and basically put my entire book business on hiatus for the summer. The good news is that I am much better now, only coughing when I over-exert myself. It takes a long time for Whooping Cough to clear up, and it disappears gradually over time. My kids have recently returned to school, and on Monday I returned from exhibiting at both the Santa Monica and Sacramento Antiquarian Book Fairs. Next on the agenda is a return to regular blogging sometime this week or next. I really do miss it.

      Hope all is well with you. You have a lovely blog, too! Thanks again for reading mine and for your care and concern.

Leave a Reply

