Chapter 556 Sucked into the Swirling Vortex

Sorry not to have posted for so long. I’ve been sucked into the swirling vortex that is the end of the school year. To be honest, I don’t think I’m going to be able to resume regular blogging until Tom and Huck are out of school on June 11. Sorry for the long hiatus. I miss it when I can’t blog, but I also hate to write when I’m in a rush. I always regret it later. Schedules will switch soon and then I’ll be back to regular posting. Thanks for understanding.

Though my schedule’s been packed in recent weeks, I’ve managed to squeeze in a few pages each night of Between Boards: New Thoughts on Old Books, by Leona Rostenberg and Madeleine B. Stern, legendary antiquarian booksellers of the 20th century. As with their other books, this one is also a delight to read. Here is one particular gem from Madeleine B. Stern:

“If everyman is a potential discoverer, then everyman is also a potential detective. Sleuthing ranks high in the Rostenberg Antiquarian Credo and rightly so, for, at its most challenging, all research involves detection. Detection applied not to crime but to books has a special lure. It demands, at least, two indispensable abilities: the ability to ferret out those ‘small facts upon which,’ according to the master detective Sherlock Holmes, ‘large inferences may depend;’ the ability to recognize those large inferences for what they are whenever and wherever they are found — perhaps another version of that Finger-Spitzengefuhl which Leona described so well but spelled so poorly in Old and Rare.”

Antiquarian booksellers as sleuths. They’ve hit the nail on the head with that description.

More gems to come as I can fit them in. Otherwise, I’ll be back after June 11.

Happy Summer!

See you in the stacks!

2 Comments

Filed under A Family Business, Book Finds

2 responses to “Chapter 556 Sucked into the Swirling Vortex

  1. I have been following your blog since you wrote about your grandmother, the beautiful handpainted book, and Elbert Hubbard. It was the latter which attracted me, as I have a huge crush on Elbert, but it was your fascinating array of topics that held my attention. Yours is the ONLY book related blog which has kept me coming back for more. GREAT job! I think it’s about time I told you I’m a fan.

    Tess (a sometimes blogger)
    Garrison House Books
    http://www.booksartlifeandacat.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

