Chapter 546 Sometimes It’s Better When The Best Laid Plans Go Awry

Thoughtful Husband and Huck were away on a Cub Scout camping trip this weekend, so I had Tom all to myself for two days. We went to his favorite local restaurant for dinner Saturday night and indulged in burgers, onion rings, and milkshakes. We talked about school, early memories of childhood, and his twelfth birthday, later this week.

Sniff.

Seems like just yesterday he was little and wearing those cute pajamas with the feet:

Now, at almost twelve, he is 5 feet, 5 inches tall and wears a men’s size 12 shoe. Yep. He’s going to be a tall guy. I am convinced he’ll have passed my not insubstantial five feet eight inches in another year’s time.

Get a load of those huge feet:

And, for the record, so as not embarrass him, I would just like to add that he doesn’t wear footie pajamas anymore.

Much to my dismay. 🙂

Here’s a photo of his somewhat smaller feet from when I started my blog in 2007. He’s in the yellow shorts and he was just nine years old. At least now I can get him to wear shoes. 🙂

Enough mother-son reveries. Back to the story at hand.

While we were at dinner, he reminded me that Monday (today) is a school holiday. I can’t think of what holiday May 3 could possibly be, but there must be a teacher in-service day or something like that.

As a result, I’m setting aside my plans to work today.

I’m going to do something fun with Tom and Huck before I look up from my books again and they are all grown up.

See you in the stacks!

1 Comment

Filed under A Family Business, Uncategorized

One response to “Chapter 546 Sometimes It’s Better When The Best Laid Plans Go Awry

  1. WJM

    And, for the record, so as not embarrass him, I would just like to add that he doesn’t wear footie pajamas anymore.

    Yet.

    Silly clothes are like toys. There is a period in one’s life where it’s ludicrous to be caught wearing (playing with) them.

    A ten year old boy playing with toy trains. Normal.

    An eighteen year old boy playing with toy trains. Iffy.

    But a forty-eight year old boy playing with toy trains? Almost inevitible, really.

    Outnumbered as you are with all those testosterone creatures, if you haven’t learned these little life lessons by now, you will!

Leave a Reply

