Chapter 520 Communication Breakdown

So I got up yesterday morning to check my email and when I brought my computer out of “sleep” mode, the screen was a flat, pixelated grey. Bright white words flashed on the screen in several languages. The messages included the words: “Kernel panic!” and “Fatal error.”

Starting the day with words like “panic” and “fatal” flashing on a screen is no good. I wished I could just go back to bed.

My computer, an iMac, is around five years old and has been revealing its age lately with various quirky behaviors. This wasn’t exactly unexpected, but I didn’t plan for it to happen today. I immediately took the computer to the nearest Apple store (not as far away as it might seem, as Apple stores are ubiquitous in Silicon Valley) where the resident “Genius” confirmed what I already knew: the computer was DOA.

The Logic Board had been corrupted by a Graphics Transistor that had corroded. He showed me where a mysterious coppery goo had leaked onto the Logic Board.

“But why?” I asked.

“Well, this is a very old computer. Five years is a long time for a computer.”

“But I love that computer. It makes sense to a non-technical person like me. It has all of my family photos from the last five years, all of the music from my old 1980s CDs and iTunes (several thousand songs), all of my email, drafts of writing projects, and the records for my book business.”

“Did you back up the computer regularly?”

“I think so.”

I had to leave the old computer and the external hard drive used for backups with Apple to see if the data can be rescued. I really hope it can or I have a lot of work ahead of me.

In the meantime, I also had to purchase a new computer. Though I haven’t yet been able to write Part 3 of my report on the San Francisco Antiquarian Book Fair, I can tell you now that I am glad I did the fair, because some of the profits just paid for a new computer, a new iPod Nano, and a new printer for me.

At the very least, I can tell you it was a good fair for me.

I’ll know in a few days whether the data I had saved on the computer and in the backups is saved. Think good thoughts for me.

Meanwhile, I’m using Tom and Huck’s computer and it is sometimes slow in connecting to the internet and sending large files (like blog posts), so it will be a little while before I can post that last part of the fair report. Maybe later today. Sorry for the delay. I’ll be back just as soon as I can.

1 Comment

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, Organization

One response to “Chapter 520 Communication Breakdown

  1. You dont turn your computer off at nights?
    Not at all?

    We do. I was always told that computers have to have some time to cool down. It is not good to keep them on 24/7 as you do.

    So sometimes our computers may only get 3 or 4 hours of down time, but thats better than nothing. Other time they get anywhere from 6 to 10 hours turned off.

Leave a Reply

