Chapter 515 For All of You Bibliophiles Who Also Love Cats

I spent much of the past two days trying to get four boxes of books catalogued for the upcoming San Francisco Antiquarian Book and Paper Show. I’ve gotten through two boxes, and hope to get through two more over the weekend so I can spend next week packing for the show and, I hope, mailing Dante catalogues (presuming they actually arrive on Monday as they should).

This afternoon I was cataloguing a French book of fairy tales. I was taken by its pretty cover:

and its dramatic hand-colored illustrations. Just look at the colors:

And the dress:

And then I saw this and it just made me laugh:

I know that it’s Puss in Boots, but the cat just looks hilarious:

And even more hilarious are the responses of the humans in the picture:

It could be that you do not find this is not funny at all. It could be that I’ve been in the house cataloguing books for too long and I need to take a break. If that’s the case, I’m sorry. 🙂

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Finds

Leave a Reply

