Chapter 510 Book Fair Plans

The San Francisco Antiquarian Book Fair will be held February 5 and 6 at the Concourse Exhibition Center in the City. You can find me at booth #205. My mentor, Mr. Z, and I reserved two booths adjacent to one another. His booth is #305 — Tavistock Books. We have requested to have the partition between the two full booths removed so that we will have one very big space that leaves lots of room for customers to come and browse. If you plan on coming to the fair, let me know by email (chris AT bookhuntersholiday DOT com). I’ll be sure and send you a free pass or two.

For now, I’m beginning to assemble the books I’ll bring to the fair. I have several boxes worth of new acquisitions, purchased in various locales during the autumn months, and, if I can get them researched and priced by then, I’m bringing all of the new acquisitions to the fair. I’ll also have a collection of rare and unusual Kate Greenaway ephemera, a few children’s books, a one-of-a-kind Spanish-American War item, several other manuscript items, Western Americana, decorative bindings, and many of the books featured in Catalogue #1. If you stop by the booth, I’ll have copies of Catalogue #1 available as well.

The following weekend, I’m thinking about attending the 43rd International Antiquarian Book Fair in Los Angeles. I’m not (yet) a member of the ABAA, so I can’t exhibit there, but it would be nice to visit the other booksellers and to shop for new books.

There is a new book fair in March, in Sacramento, the Sacramento Spring Antiquarian Book Fair. I may also do that fair, as the fall fair in Sacramento is almost always a good one for me.

That’s all the bookish news from here. Northern California has been in the grip of some fierce winter storms these past few days — rain, thunder, lightning, hail (unusual for this area), intermittent power outages, minor mudslides, and even a few cliffs crumbling into the Pacific Ocean. We are all hopeful that it may be enough to replenish our reservoirs and end the drought of the past few years. Meanwhile, Tom and Huck are enjoying splashing in puddles and pulling themselves up and down a hail-filled street on sleds.

Our backyard after a hailstorm:

Our street after the hailstorm. It’s cold enough that the hail doesn’t melt. Perfect for sledding!

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Fairs

Leave a Reply

