Chapter 508 Making a List and Checking it Twice, Or, Gift Ideas for the Bookish

Are you seeking a gift for a bookish type, either an avid reader or a book collector? Can’t afford that first edition Gatsby in dustjacket but still want to give a gift that will appeal to the bibliophile? If so, welcome to my second annual list of Gift Ideas for the Bookish. To repeat the reasons for such a list from last year:

The holidays are fast approaching, and perhaps you are wondering what gift is appropriate for the bibliophile in your life. Although my enthusiasm for books is known far and wide, my family is always somewhat reticent to buy me books. They worry when they select a book for me that it’s a book I already have or it’s book I won’t like. I’m assuming I am not the only bookish type to encounter such a situation. This year I’m suggesting a few bookish gifts for bibliophiles that do not force the buyer to second-guess a bibliophile friend or relative’s particular literary taste. You can click on the links to find out pricing and shipping information for each item.

Magnetic bookmarks from Victorian Trading Company

Book Lady Hanging Ornament

The Treasure Within Secret Book Box

Penelope Print

Record Book End — The Clash Combat Rock

Nancy Drew book cover postcards

A colorful book clock

Miniature Marbleized Book Jewelry

Happy gift hunting!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Related Products

3 responses to “Chapter 508 Making a List and Checking it Twice, Or, Gift Ideas for the Bookish

  1. Regarding the secret book box, I like how it’s been personalized. The shape and structure always did remind me of books (mine is also brown, making the similarities all the more obvious…) and it’s very nice to see that someone has made it slightly more official. All of these gift ideas are very nice, actually, but the box is probably my favorite.

  2. I meant to ask you about this last month: Can you tell me in which book (assuming it’s a book) you found the picture of Santa and the giant books? Anything about it would be appreciated–thanks!

  3. Chuck,

    I actually found the picture of Santa on the internet, but I don’t have a record anymore as to where I found it. I believe, though I am not certain, it is a drawing by Thomas Nast. The way I found it was by entering the terms “free Victorian Christmas clip art” into Google and then looking through several sites. Sorry not to be of more help.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

