Chapter 461 A New Year

Tom and Huck start school Monday. I can’t believe how time has flown: Tom is in 6th grade this year and Huck is in 3rd. When I started this blog, they were in 4th and 1st grades. I cannot believe how fast the time has flown.

They walk out the door this morning with those typical end-of-summer ambivalent feelings of anticipation and excitement. They love their new school shoes and freshly sharpened pencils and blank notebooks, and they look forward to seeing their friends. Both seem happy about the teachers to whom they’ve been assigned this year, too. But both boys are less than excited about returning to regular homework and the rigid daily school schedule that means early mornings and earlier bedtimes for both of them.

Like them, I’m ambivalent. I’ve enjoyed summer with its lazy mornings, fun day-trips, and friendly visits. But I also welcome the return to routine that the school year brings. Because I was a student and then a teacher and now a parent of students, my life has revolved around the academic school year calendar for almost as long as I can remember. The beginning of a new school year is more of a new year for me than the one that begins on January 1. As such, it’s a time to review past actions and to set (or revisit) some goals. I’ll write about that tomorrow, but first it’s time to sit back and reflect with a little help from this:

relax

The mug is a souvenir from Rare Book School. It says “Hail and Farewell”, which commemorates Terry Belanger’s retirement as Founding Director of Rare Book School (don’t worry; he’ll still be teaching) and the entrance of Michael Suarez, S.J. as the next Director. The tea, Imperial Earl Grey, is a particular favorite of mine, and I love the beautiful tin. The coaster upon which my Rare Book School mug will sit is a souvenir from a visit to Monticello, home of Thomas Jefferson. Both the mug and the coaster are reminders of my excellent trip to Virginia this summer and of the obligation to use my education well. The tea is a reminder to take a little break in the morning before getting down to work now that the kids are off to school.

Hope the end of your summer is enjoyable.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Family Business, Organization

Leave a Reply

