Chapter 446 Charlottesville, Virginia, Here I Come!

I want to tell you the tale of the quote I recently sent to a library, but that story is long and is going to require that I tell it in parts, and, as I am leaving for the University of Virginia Rare Book School in just a couple of days, I have so much to prepare around here that I don’t have the time to do it justice. It is a tale I look forward to telling in the near future. I got a scholarship to attend this school almost two years ago, and I am glad I can put it to use now. (RBS has many scholarships, and it’s worth applying for one if you plan to take a course there.)

I’m sorry. I just hate that I don’t have the time to blog daily right now, but as it is bookselling rather than blogging that pays the bills, blogging gets lower priority when things are busy. I’m studying, packing, selling books (!), and trying to get Tom and Huck and Thoughtful Husband set up with plenty of food and groceries and clean laundry until I get back. If I do those things, it makes the load lighter for Thoughtful Husband, who must go to work every day, care for Tom and Huck, and for his mother. My mom will help Thoughtful Husband while I’m away. She’s got a few adventures planned for the boys while Thoughtful Husband is at work each day. He’ll work during the day, handle the night shift here at home and will take care of his mother.

I mention this because I want to emphasize that I could not do the things a good bookseller needs to do — like go to Rare Book School and participate in out-of-town book fairs — without the help, love, and unequivocal support of my family. I want to say thank you to each of them for instantly saying things like, “That’s great!” and “How can I help?” when I tell them I will be going out of town to attend Rare Book School for a week and ask them if they would they mind taking on my duties here at home while I’m away. Thank you, Family. It’s because of you that I will be able to truly enjoy myself and to focus on learning about books while I’m away.

I’m going to take a blogging break until I return from Rare Book School. Expect to see a post again on Monday, August 3 and expect to hear all about Rare Book School and all about quoting books to institutions.

In the meantime, I will be taking a class called Book Illustration Processes to 1900 taught by Rare Book School Founder Terry Belanger.

Here are three of the things I’ll see while I’m away:

The rotunda on the campus of the University of Virginia:
University_of_Virginia_Rotunda_2006

The Alderman Library at University of Virginia:
locations_alderman_01

Monticello, home of President Thomas Jefferson:
family-vacations-monticello

See you in Virginia!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, Libraries

Leave a Reply

