Chapter 443 Let’s See if I Can Do This Without Interruption, Or, Why I May Move My Office to an “Undisclosed Location”

Shhh!

Don’t tell anyone.

I’m sitting down to write a blog post and I want to see if I can complete it without interruption by pets, children, car accidents up the street, ringing telephones, and various and sundry other things.

Summer has been busy and full of all sorts of interruptions which have precluded my having any sort of regular work schedule. Why this surprises me, I don’t know. Aside from the usual activities of family and home, I’ve been researching and writing a detailed description on the best and most interesting book I’ve ever bought or sold in my (admittedly very brief) career as a bookseller. (More about this later.) I’ve also been reading and taking notes on books like Bamber Gascoigne’s How to Identify Prints in preparation for my upcoming trip to University of Virginia for Rare Book School. I’ve been cataloguing new acquisitions for September and October’s book fairs, and I’ve been putting the finishing touches on a certain catalogue that I started (gulp!) nearly two years ago. At home, we have five birthdays to celebrate in the month of July in our family this year and I am helping to give one baby shower right after I return from Virginia. Combine this with grocery shopping, laundry, and trying to squeeze in some fun activities with Tom and Huck while they are off school, and you will see why I have had so little time for blogging lately. At least all of these various events and activities are fun, but I do wish I had more time to blog with a bit more attention to detail.

I’ve considered moving my office from my dining room to an “undisclosed location” so I could get some work done, but my life would be so much less exciting.

At last, here is my summer reading list. Aside from Gascoigne’s How to Identify Prints, I’m reading very lightweight, very fun books this year. The list below is only a list — it’s doesn’t mean that I will actually complete said list by the end of summer. In fact, it’s quite possible that with all of the other excitement around here that summer’s reading list will become autumn’s. In any case, I’m trying to read at least a little bit each night, and, left to my own devices, would read some books straight through if I could.

First, from my favorite British publisher of forgotten books by female authors, Persephone Books:

The Making of a Marchioness, by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Family Roundabout, by Richmal Crompton
The Home-Maker, by Dorothy Canfield Fisher (it’s been on my list since spring, lol!)

Next, a book recommended to me by a reader of this blog because of my newfound love for female British novelists:
Excellent Women, by Barbara Pym

Next, a book I recently finished reading:
Winston’s War: A Novel of Conspiracy, by Michael Dobbs (interesting fictional take on the ascendancy of Prime Minister Winston Churchill during World War II. Plenty of real-life characters involved.)

Next, a book recommended to me by one of my brothers, with his cautionary email message that reads, “OK, I just read a book that I normally would never recommend to you given it is an action-thriller type book and I don’t think that is your style. [ed. note — which begs the question, what does he think is my style?] However, this book involves lots of Thomas Jefferson references and there is even an antiquarian book conference and a 1st edition Don Quixote! Book is a decent read, but it is no classic.” The book is:

The Last Patriot, by Brad Thor. Will I think it is a worthwhile read? Who knows? It sounds like one of those novels people buy in airports. Maybe I’ll read it on the flight to Virginia?

Finally, to satisfy the Laura Ingalls Wilder pioneer girl in me, I am planning to read:

The Backyard Homestead, by Carleen Madigan. The Backyard Homestead tells those of us with small suburban lots how to eat from our backyard garden year-round with fresh vegetables and homemade preserves, make omelets from eggs laid by your own chickens, and pick fruits and berries from your back door. Will I actually do any of these things? Given my current schedule, probably not, but a girl can dream!

That’s all for now.

See you in the stacks!

6 Comments

Filed under A Family Business, Book Finds

6 responses to “Chapter 443 Let’s See if I Can Do This Without Interruption, Or, Why I May Move My Office to an “Undisclosed Location”

  1. What a coincidence; I just read The Making of a Marchioness, by “Mrs.” Hodgson Burnett (according to my library’s copy) last week! Picked it up totally at random, and found it charming. I hope you enjoy it.

  2. Jill

    Another coincidence – I was just looking at Persephone’s website last night, and even got on their mailing list and ordered a catalogue. Great publisher!

    I don’t know if you recommended Elizabeth Taylor (not the actress) to me, or vice versa, but I love “At Mrs. Lippincote’s”, and Taylor is one of those grossly overlooked authors (like Dawn Powell) who should be read by everyone. Thanks for the suggestions!

  3. Looks like some of us have a lot in common, including our love of certain authors or types of books! And, Jill, I think Persephone recently published a biography of Elizabeth Taylor (the author) written by Nicola Beauman.

  4. Bibliohistoria

    The Last Patriot, by Brad Thor.
    Going by your brothers description, I think I want to read this book. Now I just have to find it.

  5. Bibliohistoria

    Brad Thor’s webiste – http://www.bradthor.com/ – needs updated flash to see it.

    The Last Patriot

    June 632 A.D.: Deep within the Uranah Valley of Mount Arafat in Mecca, the Prophet Mohammed shares with his closest companions a final and startling revelation. Within days, he is assassinated.

    September 1789: U.S. Minister to France Thomas Jefferson, who is charged with forging a truce with the violent Muslim pirates of the Barbary Coast, makes a shocking discovery – one that could forever impact the world’s relationship with Islam.

    Present day: When a car bomb explodes outside a Parisian café, Scot Harvath is thrust back into the life he has tried so desperately to leave behind.

    Saving the intended victim of the attack, Harvath becomes party to an amazing and perilous race to uncover a secret so powerful that militant Islam could be defeated once and for all without firing another shot, dropping another bomb, or launching another covert action.

    But as desperate as the American government is to have the information brought to light, there are powerful forces aligned against it – men who are just as determined that Mohammed’s mysterious final revelation continue to remain hidden forever.

    What Jason Bourne was to the Cold War, Scot Harvath is to the War on Terror. Brad Thor has created “the perfect all-American hero for the post September 11 world”(Nelson DeMille) and will keep readers glued to the pages as he once again takes them across the globe on a heart-pounding chase where the stakes are higher than they have ever been before.

    How does that grab you?? It definitely grabs me.

  6. Thanks for the extra research on The Last Patriot. I found a copy on Amazon and saw it in a Barnes and Noble here, if anyone is trying to find a copy. I look forward to a review of the book on your blog if you do read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

