Chapter 434 One Year Ago

One year ago, our family’s great RV adventure across six states (California, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, South Dakota, and Montana) had just begun. Oh, how I wish we could make this trip again! It was filled with fun, adventure, unexpected bumps in the road, and even a few wrong turns, but it was the best vacation we’ve ever taken. Even though we’ve not planned to travel great distances this summer, we are having plenty of adventure here. I’ll share what we’ve been up to in the next day or so. Part of me still really wants to leave California and move to Wyoming or South Dakota. I don’t think that will ever actually happen, but when I look at the photos, I want to go back.

Because I enjoy reminding myself of our open road adventure, here are a few favorite photos from last year’s trip:

Bandits in Deadwood, South Dakota
bandits

Bears, South Dakota
bears

Buffalo, Yellowstone National Park
buffalo

Salt Lake City, Utah
utah

Crazy Horse Monument, South Dakota
crazyhorse

Badlands, South Dakota
badlands

Independence Day at Mt. Rushmore, South Dakota
fireworks

Laura Ingalls Wilder Homestead, South Dakota (the high point of the trip for me!)
homestead

(Prairie dog, South Dakota)
prairiedog

Bucking bronco at the Cody Night Rodeo, Cody, Wyoming
rodeo

Huck being silly
sourpuss

Grand Tetons, Wyoming
tetons

Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming/Montana
yellowstone

Near Independence Rock, Wyoming
wyoming

What she said:
laurarock

See you in the stacks!

4 Comments

Filed under A Family Business

4 responses to “Chapter 434 One Year Ago

  1. Pingback: Chapter 435 And This Summer . . . « Book Hunter’s Holiday

  2. Bibliohistoria

    Those are absolutely gorgeous photos, Chris.

    Question – about Crazy Horse Monument, South Dakota

    There is a profile view of a face in that photo. Is the Crazy Horse Monument on the side of Mt Rushmore where the presidents have been carved into rock?
    Or is there another face that we dont know about?

  3. Bibliohistoria

    Never mind – I just did a Google Earth and there is another face. A face that is not very well known.

    It seems to be of an Indian named Crazy Horse. I think he may have had something to do with Custer’s Last stand.

    Am I right?

    • You are right. The Crazy Horse monument is not part of Mt. Rushmore. It is near Mt. Rushmore, but not so close you can see one from the other. Mt. Rushmore is a monument to American presidents. Crazy Horse, which is a work in progress, is a monument to the Native Americans who died and who had their land usurped by the U.S. Government. My understanding from visiting last year is that when it is completed, the monument will show the chief on his horse with his hand pointing to land where his people lie buried, land that was promised to the Native Americans, but after the discovery of gold there, was taken back.

      I need to check my facts and make sure that’s right, but I am about to run out the door, so I’ll confirm the details and correct any errors when I return.

Leave a Reply

