Chapter 426 Self-Made Woman

Recently, I’ve been buying books and ephemera that have visual appeal. Not for any particular reason. I just like it when I look at a book and see a sense of beauty in its design or its illustration or its dustjacket. Though visual appeal is not a prerequisite in my purchasing a particular book, I find that I sometimes buy a book based solely on its cover. Though we’ve always heard that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, it’s sometimes fun to do so. I have to admit, I am just a a sucker for a pretty dustjacket. Here’s a recent fun find in a bold dustjacket that proves my point:

selfmadewoman

From the inside flap of the dustjacket:

“Cathleen was thirty, unmarried, and one of the most successful business women in New York City. She didn’t consider herself a freak of nature. Her success was extremely gratifying to her. “Was it worth it,” her mother asked her, “worth it to go without your own man and your own children in your arms?”

I love how the dustjacket copy goes on to describe the man who may may make Cathleen choose to give it all up for love:

“Perry Spencer, more expert at holding a woman than a job, a beautifully tailored blend of polo and Park Avenue.”

Here’s the technical description:

Baldwin, Faith. SELF-MADE WOMAN. New York: Triangle Books, 1941 (1932). VG red cloth book in a VG, lightly chipped dustjacket.

In case this book appeals to you as much as it does to me, it’s available for purchase for $30 plus $4.00 shipping (Media Mail in the US). Email me at chris AT bookhuntersholiday DOT com for more details.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Finds

Leave a Reply

