Chapter 424 Snow on the Moutain, Rain in the Campsite, and Sunshine in the Faces of Our Friends

I have returned from camping only to have Thoughtful Husband come down with a virus, so I haven’t been able to post as much as I thought I would this week. Thoughtful Husband is on the mend now, and the rest of us are still healthy (knock on wood), but I’m still in the middle of washing all of the clothes, jackets, and sleeping bags from our trip to Yosemite.

Can someone please tell me how four people living simply by camping in the wilderness can generate so many loads of laundry?
laundry

We had a great trip, but it was a bit cold and damp for the first weekend in June. When we entered Yosemite National Park at Tioga Pass, it started raining and there was a fresh dusting of snow on the ground. In order to fit four bicycles, four suitcases, food supplies and drinks for four days, and four sleeping bags in the car, Thoughtful Husband had purchased a canvas container to put on the Bookmobile’s roof rack. He put all of our sleeping bags, pillows, and towels in the container and secured it to the roof.

As the rain began to pound harder, I asked, “Aren’t the sleeping bags, pillows, and towels going to get all wet up on the roof?”

Thoughtful Husband gave me a look. It was the look of a man who does not want to hear the question being asked because he knows the answer will mean more work for him. “It shouldn’t get wet,” he said. “That canvas is pretty water resistant.”

“Water resistant is not the same as waterproof. I think maybe we [read: you] should take everything down off the roof and put it on the boys’ and my laps. It’s only about a half an hour to the campsite. I think we’d rather be crowded in the car than have to deal with wet sleeping bags.”

I am quite sure Thoughtful Husband wanted to grumble and even to refuse, but having known me since our teenage years, he just pulled the car over, put on a rain poncho, and got out of the car. Tom and Huck sat inside laughing at the sight of their father in a rain poncho.

Until they got four sleeping bags and four pillows thrown on their laps.

I would love to show you the photo of the inside of our car, piled high with coolers, sleeping bags, bicycles, pillows, towels, and suitcases, but I accidentally did something to the photos I took that day and I can’t get them to upload to my computer.

When we finally arrived at our campsite, the storm had settled into a slow drizzle, damp and cold, but not catastrophic.

Except for the mud. The mud stuck to our shoes and then followed us into our tents. A little bit of diligent sweeping took care of that. We had cool weather and intermittent rain the first two days of our trip, but the last two days were filled with sunshine and we were able to hike, swim, and ride bikes. Since you know I am not a fan of dirt or cold, I was at first less than thrilled about the unusual June weather conditions.

And then I saw my friends and family. It’s the only time of year I have most of the people I love gathered in one place. I decided to see the sunshine in their faces and suddenly my camping trip got a whole lot brighter.

Here are a few more photos from our weekend:

At the beach by the river
beachparty

Huck is keeping warm at the beach by burying himself in the sand.
matt

The fun thing about camping is that the kids invent their own toys and games:
kidsonlog

Tom made a bike track around our camp.
biketrack

Roasting marshmallows by the fire.
marshmallows

The whole gang:
fccrowd

My mom and dad, me, Thoughtful Husband, and Tom and Huck.
withmomanddad

I’ll be finishing the laundry over the weekend and look forward to posting again on Monday.

See you by the washing machine!

2 Comments

Filed under A Family Business

2 responses to “Chapter 424 Snow on the Moutain, Rain in the Campsite, and Sunshine in the Faces of Our Friends

  1. adorno

    You obviously didn’t do it right. Campers wear the sme clothes for a week, or if necessary wade out into a stream.

  2. Bibliohistoria

    I like that last photo – of you, TH, your parents and the boys. Its very nice.

Leave a Reply

