Chapter 422 Books Into Film

In 2005, Julie Powell published her first book, the bestselling Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen. It might have been a good book, but I wouldn’t know, because I was obsessed at the time with reading anything and everything about book collecting and bookselling. I had enough cooking to do for the family of four in my house; I wanted to escape from cooking. The last thing I wanted to read was another book about cooking. I’m sorry I felt that way, because I should have had some appreciation for another woman who works in a very small space and who does her best to master something new to her.

Today I saw the trailer for the movie version of Julie and Julia, and it looks great. It’s not often I like books made into films, and I hope I will be pleasantly surprised in this case. The film will premiere in August, 2009, and I plan to go see it. In the meantime, the book looks like the perfect lighthearted read for the start of summer. Have any of you read the book? What did you think?

Here’s the trailer:

1 Comment

Filed under Book Finds, Book Related Products

One response to “Chapter 422 Books Into Film

  1. Jill

    What a great recommendation, Chris! The trailer certainly makes the movie look fantastic (Meryl Streep as Julia Child – how brilliant was that casting!).I can’t wait to see it! And I will pick up the book at my local independent bookstore. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a comment