Chapter 416 Springtime Distractions

I am still in the process of re-shelving the books I took to the Gold Rush Book Fair. The re-shelving includes moving bookcases away from the walls and vacuuming behind them, dusting all shelves, and dusting the books themselves — sort of a bibliophilic spring cleaning. I am also culling books from my personal collection. This includes boxing and donating books I’ve read and looking through the stack of books I have not yet read and choosing what will be next.

With all this work to do, I did what any sensible person would do on a beautiful spring day: I stepped outside on my back porch with a cup of tea (Earl Grey), sat down and read the newspaper (a reading pleasure that’s likely soon to be lost to civilization), and took pictures of my garden.

While the newspaper had little good to say, the garden was teeming with life. Here are a few photos:

A bee in a flower:
beeinflower
A spider web in between blades of grass:
spiderweb

Lettuce, which was planted by Huck and me about a month ago:
lettuce

Buds (potential lemons?) on our new Meyer Lemon Tree:
meyerlemons

Tomatoes on the vine:
tomatoes

Tiny Carpet Roses:
roses

Impatiens:
impatiens

I’m thinking of moving my “office” outdoors for the summer.

See you in the garden!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

