Chapter 413 Try and Decipher This One . . .

Here’s a dedication page from a Bible I am researching. It’s called a Martin Luther Bible. The binding is dated 1728, but the text inside is dated 1620 and there is an appendix at the back dated 1630. I’ll add more photos when I can, but for now I wanted to show you the beautiful (if indecipherable to me) handwriting:

dedication

My neighbor, who is originally from Germany, came over and translated the page for me. It’s in German and she thinks it is a special dedication of this particular copy of the Bible to two men named Johann and Friedrich Wilhelm (brothers?) or one man named Johann Friedrich Wilhelm. In any case, according to the dedication, they (he?) were dukes and counts of Saxony, Westphalia, and Thuringen, among other places. I have a hunch (but haven’t been able to verify it yet) that the dedicatee was one of the Electors of the Holy Roman Empire. I think I need to brush up on my 17th and 18th century European history to research the identity of the dedicatee. If anyone reading this has any idea of where I should start my research, please let me know. Thanks!

chris AT bookhuntersholiday DOT com

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Finds

Leave a Reply

