Chapter 395 Back to the Books

It’s good to be back after not posting for nearly two weeks. Thanks for being patient while my book business was temporarily overtaken by my personal life. I especially appreciated those of you who left comments or sent emails in the wake of the deaths of several people I know. That was very kind and considerate of you, and it helped make some dark days a little bit brighter. I’m happy to be able to say I look forward to regular posting again.

Here’s a little bit to catch you up on what I’ve been doing:

What I’m Reading: Miss Buncle’s Book by D.E. Stevenson. It’s hilarious.

What I Did Last Weekend: Pulled weeds, trimmed shrubs, and planted new flowers in my yard. Then had an impromptu barbecue with most of the neighbors on our block.

What I’m Working On: Pricing some books from a recent housecall and proofreading the graphic designer’s version of my Dante catalogue.

What I’m Thinking: That I am thankful for my family and my friends.

What You Should Be Thinking About: Signing up for the 2009 Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar. There are more scholarships than ever this year, so don’t let the financial state of your book business deter you. I’ll be posting more about this next week.

Outside: After a four-day heat wave, it’s now in the low 60s and very windy. What happened to Spring?

From the kitchen: Having Pasta e Fagioli for dinner tonight. (Also known as Pasta Fazool).

Around the house: Trying to spring clean but never making the time to do more than the minimum. Trying to plan a family party next weekend.

Here’s a photo of one of the fun finds from that recent housecall:

fairytales

See you in the stacks!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chapter 395 Back to the Books

  1. Jan

    Thanks for mentioning MISS BUNCLE’S BOOK. I looked it up, and it sounds like a fun read. I shall buy a copy. It reminds me of a scandal going on in Ludington, Michigan. A public librarian was fired for writing a book (THE LIBRARY DIARIES by Ann Miketa) about the oddball patrons of her library. I had a difficult time acquiring a copy of this book, but I finally did and I have never in my life read such ranting and raving. What the writer exposes is beyond belief. She is not a good writer, but she certainly gets her colorful opinions across. A quick Google will bring up newspaper articles about it all.

Leave a Reply

