Chapter 389 Can One Really Conduct Serious Research in a Library with a Cafe? I’m about to Find out.

I’m headed off to this library Wednesday to take a look at that Dante bibliography that isn’t available anywhere else near my house. As the Santa Clara University Library is a newly remodeled one, it’s filled with computers and a cafe, while the books are crammed together on huge shelves in an attached building. One goes in the library and requests a book. A robot arm gets this message, retrieves the book and somehow delivers it to the circulation desk. I have my doubts about this system, but I’ll reserve judgment until I try it. I sure hope the Automated Retrieval System can locate both volumes of the bibliography I need. I’ll let you know how it goes.

In the meantime, I thought you might like to know I received the first draft of the print version of Book Hunter’s Holiday Catalogue #1, as envisioned by me and as made into reality by the graphic designer. I am moving on to the proofreading, double-fact-checking, and revision phase. The necessity of completing this task coincides (of course!) with Tom and Huck’s week off of school for spring break next week and with my being called for jury duty, so don’t expect it to be finished too soon. Still, it’s wonderful to have a print draft in hand.

See you by the Automated Retrieval System! (Oh, how I miss the stacks!)

3 Comments

Filed under Catalogues, Libraries

3 responses to “Chapter 389 Can One Really Conduct Serious Research in a Library with a Cafe? I’m about to Find out.

  1. Jill

    I miss the stacks, the card catalogue, and the librarians who used to tell you to “please be quiet”. I went to the very attractive Danville Library recently, and finally had to leave because I could not concentrate for all the talking and chaos. Robot arms? Oh, please!

    On a happier note, congratulations on receiving the first draft of your Dante catalogue!! How exciting!

  2. thedonofpages

    Question for a law student (better than asking the library robot arm) If a passerby spills coffee on the library book, and you don’t get their license number, do you have to pay the cost of drying out the book? Or do you have to prove it was coffee furnished by the Library to escape a fine?

Leave a Reply

