Chapter 388 Two of my Favorite Things — Cake and Books

I love to bake. Cakes, bread, cookies, and anything else sweet to eat.

The fact that I love to bake does not make me a good baker. Far from it. But I have fun with it anyway and have been known to try to get creative with my family’s birthday and holiday cakes. Here are a few examples:

A dinosaur-themed volcano cake. We used crumbled Oreo cookies for the lava rocks and lit 4th of July sparklers on top to replicate an eruption:
volcanocake

A pirate’s treasure chest cake:
treasurechestcake

A skateboard cake:
skateboardcake

A hardhat cake, from when Huck was little and liked the show “Bob the Builder”:
hardhatcake

A wizard’s hat cake, from when Tom had a Harry Potter-themed birthday party:
harrypottercake

A cake I make every year on the first day of school:
schoolcake

One day, while wondering whether I could make a book-shaped cake and searching around for the words “book” and “cake” on the internet, I came across these amazing book cakes. They are made to look like illuminated books of hours and one even has a turnable page! I know what kind of cake I’m going to try to make next:

tadashiweddingcake1989

cookscollegium-2marzipan1989

Enjoy! And have some cake next time you sit down to read a book. It is really quite a nice combination.

See you in the stacks!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Related Products

3 responses to “Chapter 388 Two of my Favorite Things — Cake and Books

  1. Pingback: Chapter 465 Who Knew? « Book Hunter’s Holiday

  2. i like the hard hat cake…

  3. Pingback: Chapter 548 Tom Turns Twelve « Book Hunter’s Holiday

Leave a Reply

