Chapter 383, What We Did over the Weekend, The Hoverboard Edition

We had a busy weekend, filled with the usual sports games (flag football and baseball) and household chores. Tom and Huck and our neighbors spent most of their time outdoors, refining their hoverboard. I still can’t believe that all who worked on the project are under 13. I couldn’t have come up with something like this or built it even though I am _0! I may complain that my sons are reluctant readers, but when they and their friends work together to build something that actually works, I couldn’t be prouder.

So, if you’ll indulge a bit of parental pride, here’s a video of Huck riding the hoverboard, pulled by our neighbor. The hoverboard doesn’t appear in the video to be off the ground, but if you look closely, you can tell it is a couple of inches off the ground. There’s no way (that I know of) that anyone could pull a person sitting on a piece of plywood that fast and spin him around if the plywood wasn’t already hovering over the ground. The rope coming off the back of the hoverboard is one of a few really long extension cords that powers the hoverboard’s leafblower engine (you’ll hear the noisy and dusty engine in the video). The rope in the front is for someone to pull the hoverboard so it has forward motion. I took many still photos, especially of the mechanics of the hoverboard up close, but Tom loaded the photos on my computer and I can’t find them and he’s gone to bed, so those will have to wait for another time. Meanwhile, enjoy the short video:

See you in the stacks!

4 Comments

Filed under A Family Business

4 responses to “Chapter 383, What We Did over the Weekend, The Hoverboard Edition

  1. Jill

    I want one! Kind of a modern day flying carpet!

  2. Thanks! They had fun building it. I will add that after I saw the hoverboard in motion, I asked them to please wear their skateboard helmets. 😉

  3. Pingback: Chapter 500 Halloween Festivities « Book Hunter’s Holiday

Leave a Reply

