Chapter 368 Catalogue Update

chocolate

Can you hear me whining about compiling all of my tax information, even if you live far away? It’s time for the annual meeting with the accountant. I have all the information I need at my fingertips, but I had to sit down today and add it all up and then check and re-check my addition. Once I turn over the relevant numbers to the accountant, I’ll be done with this until next year, thankfully. It’s not that figuring out taxes for a small business like mine is difficult; it’s just that I don’t enjoy it. Well, who does? I guess maybe only accountants.

In other news, I have an update on the Dante catalogue. Some of the news is good and some of it is bad. As those of you who are regular readers know, I searched high and low and recently found a graphic designer willing to help me on my paltry budget. The week before the San Francisco Antiquarian Book Fair I gave her my draft of the Dante catalogue.

First, the bad news.

The bad news is that she told me I need to re-scan almost all of the images in the catalogue (that’s one per book and there are 55 books) in higher resolution. This is not too difficult, but it’s kind of a pain and it is time consuming. With Huck sick at the end of last week and all during the weekend, I didn’t do much book work. I’m hoping to start re-scanning the books Monday. I’ll let you know how much time it actually takes.

Now for the good news.

The good news is that the graphic designer was able to work with my low-res images and the text I sent to complete a draft of the catalogue. I should see the draft sometime early this week to approve of the general formatting and layout. Even though the images in this draft will only be the low-resolution ones, I cannot wait to see how the catalogue looks. Wish me luck!

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Catalogues

Leave a Reply

