Chapter 327 Checking In

Just want to check in and say hello. I’ve been having a good time celebrating Christmas, hosting various relatives and friends, and, finally, nursing a cold. I’ve been glad to take a little break from blogging, but I miss it. I’ve got a few good book posts lined up, but am still officially taking a break until my kids return to school in a week. Special thanks to those of you who sent cards. What a wonderful, unexpected surprise!

Here are a few photos of what I’ve been up to in the past week or so:

Winter finally arrived in the Bay Area (exactly one day after the leaves fell off the trees). I love drinking tea on a cold frosty morning and looking out the window at the frost knowing it will melt and warm to about 65 by noon.
frostyleaves

Tom and Huck were up to their usual tricks. This time they dressed our dog, a delightful and dear little spaniel named Molly, to look like Santa Claus when I was out for the day:
santadog

We saw some pretty unbelievable Christmas lights (this is not our house):
lights

Wondering what that red and white ramp is in front of the house? It’s the sunny California version of a sled run. The people who own this home not only go over the top in decorating with exterior illumination, they bring in thousands of pounds of crushed ice to make “snow” and construct a sled run in the street in front of their house. The kids all love it.
sledramp

We attended a wonderful party where Santa Claus came. That’s Huck with him in the photo.
santamatt

I decorated my house/office for the holiday, complete with sleeping spaniel on top of couch.
livingroom

We hosted Christmas Eve Dinner and Day After Christmas Brunch. Gingerbread house courtesy of Tom, Huck, and Nana and Papa.
table

All in all, it was a wonderful holiday, though it was not without its mishaps. I accidentally set the sweet potato casserole on fire on Christmas Eve. I made (and ruined) this same sweet potato casserole last year, too. This year, wanting to add a bit of flourish to my Christmas Even dinner, I added marshmellows to the top of the sweet potatoes and put them under the broiler. Unfortunately, I then forgot that the sweet potato casserole was in the broiler until I began to smell smoke. I opened the oven door to sweet potatoes flambe, and the fire was quickly doused by Thoughtful Husband and my dad. No damage done, except to the sweet potato casserole.

I’m looking forward to returning to regular blogging next week, and I thank those of you still around reading my blog. Wishing you a happy New Year!

6 Comments

Filed under A Family Business

6 responses to “Chapter 327 Checking In

  1. What lovely photographs.
    And it is so good to “read” you again.
    I hope you and your family all have a great New Years.

    Historia

  2. I wonder if you and that sweet potato casserole are destined to be friends? Some things aren’t meant to be.

    Happy holidays!

  3. WJM

    Spaniel? What kind of a cat is that?

  4. cocker spaniel or a king charles spaniel – dogs

  5. WJM

    SYNTAX ERROR IN COMMENT 4: “dogs”

  6. Pingback: Chapter 328 Back to the Books — Finally « Book Hunter’s Holiday

Leave a Reply

