Chapter 321 Rare Book School’s 2009 Schedule, Or, Good News for a Change

Time for some happy news today. I may be a little late reporting this, but I want to point out to all of you who want to learn more about rare books that the Rare Book School at the University of Virginia has posted it’s 2009 course schedule. I plan to enroll in a course there myself this summer, and from all others I know who have attended, Rare Book School is a bibliophile’s delight.

Now here’s some news to give you Easterners and Mid-Westerners a laugh. I’ve been waiting for the season to change from summer to fall since mid-September. The sun shone all through October and November, each day about 70 degrees (Fahrenheit). It was nice weather, but not the seasonal feeling I wished for. Finally, about two days ago, Autumn arrived in the Bay Area. Here’s my Japanese Maple Tree on a damp, foggy morning. The leaves finally began to turn:

tree2

I think I may have mentioned before that this tree was planted so I could look out the window and pretend I live somewhere with seasons, like New England. To really imagine that, I have to focus so that I only see the leaves on the tree and not the still-blooming, tropical hibiscus — like this:

Lovely fall foliage. Somebody get me a hot apple cider, please.
tree

Autumn will, apparently, be short lived. I awoke to a cold, frosty morning today. The high temperature at mid-day was about 54. When I awoke this morning, it was about 40. My dog didn’t even want to go outside. If the cold snap continues, I expect the leaves to fall off the tree by the end of the week. So much for enjoying the view.

(Here’s the part where you non-Californians are probably laughing at my inability to recognize true cold. Go ahead. I deserve it. I bet you’d be putting on shorts in weather like this. We’ll see who is laughing when I go to the beach in February.) I have been cold all day. I had to put on socks and real shoes (as opposed to my usual barefoot or flip-flopped self). I am wearing a sweater. I am freezing (insert teeth chattering here). Huck is asking if we can build a fire, even though it is only about 4:00 p.m. here. I am brewing a hot pot of Holiday Blend Tea and preparing to dive under the covers and address Christmas cards.

I often wonder if I could survive if I lived someplace with a real winter. I doubt it. I admire those of you who do.

See you in the stacks!

2 Comments

Filed under A Bookseller's Education, Internet Resources for Booksellers and Book Collectors

2 responses to “Chapter 321 Rare Book School’s 2009 Schedule, Or, Good News for a Change

  1. You shouldn’t really admire us. We are a nation of complainers. Be very grateful that you live in sunny California. I sure wish I did.

    We here in the great white north complain all day about how cold it is. We complain about how the snow on the roads causes the car to spin out of control. We complain about how slow the salting trucks are in getting the roads salted. We complain about how the wheels dont have traction on the snowy roads because we dont have winter tires.

    And WHY do we not have winter tires?

    Because Quebec has made it mandatory for all cars in Quebec to have winter tires from December 15th to March 15th – so all the winter tires in the country have disappeared. EVERYONE is putting on winter tires on their cars, whether they need them or not. Or maybe because they think they might go to Quebec for the winter.

    Historia in Canada

  2. In admiring the romance of seasonal snowy weather, I always seem to forget about the annoying practicalities — driving conditions, snow tires, and winter tires. Though you’d like California’s mild climate, you’d likely find some tiresome things about it, too. I guess the lesson is that the grass is always greener, lol.

Leave a Reply

