Chapter 313 With Gratitude

I find myself counting my blessings tonight, in preparation for Thanksgiving. Due to Thanksgiving plans with my family for the rest of the week, I’m going to take a blogging break until Monday.

I had been preparing a post of thankfulness for the book-related things in my life, but due to busy circumstances here, that will have to wait for another time. Suffice it to say that I am very grateful for my book business and for all who have helped me. This includes but is not necessarily limited to mentors, colleagues, customers, teachers and fellow students at Rare Book School, librarians, readers of this blog, people who devote their lives to bringing literature to life for the next generation (Laura Ingalls Wilder Homestead in De Smet, SD), my friends and my family. Thank you very much for making my job so enjoyable. Antiquarian bookselling is a great gift, and I am so grateful for it every day.

Here’s a little Thanksgiving poem by Carl Sandburg. The speaker in the poem is thankful even though parts of his life are not entirely in his control. It’s only the “break of the game and the first play and the last” he controls, but just for that he is grateful. Given I’ve had a bit of a rough week (I’m not going to elaborate here so just take my word for it), I can relate to that theme. I hope you like it and that it gives you something to think about on Thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving and thank you for reading!

OUR PRAYER OF THANKS
by Carl Sandburg

FOR the gladness here where the sun is shining at
evening on the weeds at the river,
Our prayer of thanks.

For the laughter of children who tumble barefooted and
bareheaded in the summer grass,
Our prayer of thanks.

For the sunset and the stars, the women and the white
arms that hold us,
Our prayer of thanks.

God,
If you are deaf and blind, if this is all lost to you,
God, if the dead in their coffins amid the silver handles
on the edge of town, or the reckless dead of war
days thrown unknown in pits, if these dead are
forever deaf and blind and lost,
Our prayer of thanks.

God,
The game is all your way, the secrets and the signals and
the system; and so for the break of the game and
the first play and the last.
Our prayer of thanks.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Family Business, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

