Chapter 312 Tag — I’m it!

Received from Joyce Godsey at Bibliophile Bullpen today:

I am sorry, i HAVE to do this – it’s one of the rules

You have been tagged.

Here are the rules:

1. Link to the person or persons who tagged you.
2. Post the rules on your blog.
3. Write six random things about yourself.
4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog.
6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

Well, er, thanks Joyce! Without further ado:

SIX RANDOM THINGS ABOUT ME

1) I attended an all-girls high school. This was a blessing for me, as I don’t have any sisters. I made my best friends there and they are still my best friends to this day. They are the sisters I didn’t have in my own family.

2) When in the company of other antiquarian booksellers, I am often overwhelmed with shyness and inexperience, though I try really hard to ignore it and to behave as though I am not shy.

3) Thoughtful Husband and I help care for his mother, who is 83, lives independently (but nearby), and can no longer drive. This means we take my mother-in-law to get groceries, prescriptions, to doctor appointments, a few other errands, as well as try take her out for fun events like the kids’ soccer games and family celebrations. I know what many of you, when you hear the word “mother-in-law” are thinking; fortunately for me, my mother-in-law is a lovely lady, so it’s not unpleasant. It does mean, though, that between her needs and the kids’, my work time is limited and that I work very slowly (witness the Dante catalogue — one year and counting and it’s still not done). One upside to all of this is that I get to take my time and learn the book business very thoroughly.

4) I learn best when I write things down and when I have to teach others about what I’ve learned. The initial reason I started my blog was to have to write down things I’d learned so I could have a place to remember them. I also wanted to remind my future self what it is like to be a first-year (now second year) antiquarian bookseller.

5) I try to keep bad news out of the blog. I figure everyone has enough bad news in their lives already. But since I’m sharing random things today, I’ll let you know that two people I know have died in the past week — one of the people is a friend and mother to one of Tom and Huck’s schoolmates, who is nine years old; the other person is another friend’s father, who I’ve known for nearly 20 years.

6) Thoughtful Husband proposed marriage to me on top of the Matterhorn ride at Disneyland. When he proposed, I said, “What?! Are you kidding?” just as the roller coaster began its speeding, curving descent into the abominable snowman abyss below. The rest is history. And, no, that story is not a metaphor for our relationship. 😉 (Just checking to see if you’re reading, TH)

Enough about me. Back to bookish blogging tomorrow, I promise.

I am tagging:

Brian Cassidy, Bookseller
Ian Kahn at Lux Mentis
bookn3rd
Jeanne Jarzombek at The Book Prowler (Jeanne, your blog seems to be down at the moment, but I am tagging you anyway).
Bibliohistoria
Rachel at Book Trout
The Exile Bibliophile

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chapter 312 Tag — I’m it!

  1. i went to an all girls high school…i got asked to leave after one year…then the school closed. I like to think i did that.

  2. Joyce,
    You sound just like one of my best friends! She still thinks she is single-handedly responsible for getting our History teacher to have a nervous breakdown and quit mid-semester freshman year.

    Here’s to the troublemakers!

    Chris

Leave a Reply

