Chapter 276 Seattle Book Fair

The 2008 Seattle Antiquarian Book Fair and Book Arts Show is to be held this weekend. I’ve never been to this fair myself, but have heard it is one of the best antiquarian book shows on the West Coast.

Am I going to exhibit there?

Not this year, I’m afraid. Because I still have young kids at home and I recently crammed in trips to UCLA for Rare Book School and then to the Santa Monica and Central Valley Book Fairs, I just can’t leave again. My family helps to drive kids around, supervise homework, and just plain old babysit when I’m gone, and there’s only so much in a three month period I can impose on them to do. I’m hoping to be there next year. Check it out if you live in the Seattle area.

In unrelated news, I awoke this morning to fog and mist and cold air. It was lovely. Just as autumn should feel. Until about 11:00 a.m. when the fog burned off. It is now sunny and 75.

Sigh.

I have my hopes that, if today is typical of Bay Area weather, we may get the fog and cold air again in the afternoon. I am pretending it is fall anyway. On the agenda for supper tonight is Creamy Beef and Potato Stew with sides of Green Beans and Green Salad and biscuits. Dessert: A new tea (Tazo’s Sweet Cinnamon Spice) and Pumpkin Bread with a surprise baked in — chocolate chips! If you’ve never tried it, you might be surprised to know that pumpkin and chocolate are a perfect combination. The spice of the cinnamon-pumpkin flavor is a wonderful complement to the sweet-spicy flavor of dark chocolate. It’s delicious if you put chocolate sauce on your pumpkin pie, too. Pure decadence!

I just went outside to get the mail, and guess what I saw? One of our trees trying its best to get into autumn mode:

Pathetic if you live where there’s “foliage” in the fall, I am sure, but for sunny California, it’s the best I’ve seen so far.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Fairs

Leave a Reply

