Chapter 273 Best Loved Descriptions of Autumn

I’ve been thinking a lot about autumn lately, Keats’ “season of mists and yellow fruitfulness”.

The first book I bought for my Kindle reader is Laura Ingalls’ Friends Remember Her: Memories from Laura’s Ozarks Home, by Dan L. White. I hadn’t heard of this book before and have enjoyed reading it. One of the interesting items in the book is a poem written by Wilder in honor of autumn.

If you’ve read this blog since it’s early days, you’ll know every year at the start of autumn I read Wilder’s description of autumn from her first book, Little House in the Big Woods. It provides a lovely description of the season from a child’s perspective. It also helps me to ignore our hot California weather and to imagine an autumn with all the trimmings. I’m adding Laura’s poem as quoted in White’s book to my list of best-loved descriptions of autumn. Written later in her life, it offers her adult perspective on the season, and is an interesting contrast to the Little House in the Big Woods description, which focused more on indoor preparations.

“I strolled today down a woodland path —
A crow cawed loudly and flew away.
The sky was blue and the clouds were gold
And drifted before me fold on fold;
The leaves were yellow and red and brown
And patter, patter the nuts fell down,
On this beautiful, golden autumn day.

A squirrel was storing his winter hoard,
The world was pleasant; I lingered long,
The brown quails rose with a sudden whirr
And a little bundle, of eyes and fur,
Took shape of a rabbit and leaped away.
A little chipmunk came out to play
And the autumn breeze sang a wonder song.”

-Laura Ingalls Wilder

I’d love to know what are your favorite autumnal descriptions. What gets you in the spirit of the changing season? Please leave me a comment below if you have a favorite.

Have a great weekend! See you in the stacks!

5 Comments

Filed under Book Finds, Laura Ingalls Wilder

5 responses to “Chapter 273 Best Loved Descriptions of Autumn

  1. Jill

    Hi Chris,

    I love this topic, because fall is my favorite season also – it’s such a beautiful time of year. It’s the one time that I wish I lived on the East coast instead of California, although Northern CA does have a bit of an autumn, albeit short. Thoreau is one of my favorite authors, and I love his poem “On Fields O’er Which The Reaper’s Hand Has Passed”:

    On fields o’er which the reaper’s hand has pass’d
    Lit by the harvest moon and autumn sun,
    My thoughts like stubble floating in the wind
    And of such fineness as October airs,
    There after harvest could I glean my life
    A richer harvest reaping without toil,
    And weaving gorgeous fancies at my will
    In subtler webs than finest summer haze.

    Have a great weekend!

    Jill

  2. Denny

    The ultimate autumn poem, James Whitcomb Riley’s, “When the frost is on the pumkin, and the fodders in the shock”

    Doesn’t get any better than this!!

    Greetings from Ohio

    Denny

  3. That’s a great one, Denny. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Chapter 574 Favorite Description of Autumn, 2010 Edition, Or, “October is the treasurer of the year . . .” « Book Hunter’s Holiday

Leave a Reply

