Chapter 272 All the Year in the Garden

I’m working at the computer right now, looking out the window at my rather overgrown back garden. The Japanese maple, the hedges, and the magnolia all need to be trimmed back. I’ve been so busy with books and with kids I just haven’t gotten to it yet. I need to get to it before the rainy season and cold weather hit. The gutters also need to be cleaned and the windows washed. If I’m to finish the Dante catalogue anytime soon, I have to ignore it for the time being.

I console myself with the following find:

It’s got a lovely little quote or poem for each day of the year, each one garden related. The entry for October 2:

There is something beyond the philosophies in the light, in the grass blades, the leaf, the grass-hopper, the sparrow on the wall. Some day the great and beautiful thought that hovers on the confines of the mind will at last alight. In that is hope, the whole sky is full of abounding hope. Something beyond the books, that is consolation. — Richard Jefferies, Meadow Thoughts

Perhaps some yard work, “something beyond the books,” is just the right thing for this October day.

See you in the stacks!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Finds

2 responses to “Chapter 272 All the Year in the Garden

  1. Jill

    Hi Chris,

    That’s a beautiful quote – I am printing it out on a pretty piece of stationery to place on my desk. Thank you!

    Jill

Leave a Reply

