Chapter 254 Deflated

I finally went to sleep at 2:30 a.m. last night. Laundry was folded and put away. Plans for Tom and Huck were readied (my parents are coming to our house to stay with them). Books and suitcases were packed and ready to go. I got up at 6:30 this morning and got Tom and Huck off to school at 8:00. The lack of sleep didn’t matter. I always feel energized before book fairs, and I like to prepare for them.

“Ready to load the car?” asked Thoughtful Husband, who is coming along to this fair with me.

“Ready. Let’s get on the road. It’s at least a six hour drive.”

As I backed the bookmobile into the garage so we could load it, Thoughtful Husband stood off to the side, squinting at my passenger-side front tire. He crouched down to take a closer look. I thought I saw a certain look on his face, a look that can only be identified after many years of matrimony. It was the look that conveys the thought, “My wife is going to be so mad and it’s not my fault. Where can I hide until she calms down?”

“What?” I asked him, trying to sound innocent but already guessing the answer.

“There is a nail in your tire. We can’t put all those boxes of books and bookcases in the car and drive it several hundred miles with a nail in your tire. It’s not safe.”

*&^%*+!

Sigh.

Double sigh.

“Hey, isn’t there a literary allusion about “The best laid plans . . .” he asked?

“Stop. Just stop. That’s quite enough right there.”

Thoughtful Husband has taken the bookmobile to the shop for repairs and to hide from his disappointed wife until it is fixed.

I know we’ll get on the road eventually. Just wanted to rant for a minute. Here endeth the rant.

Wish us luck. We’ll need it.

See you at the fair, eventually!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Fairs

Leave a Reply

