Chapter 210 Prairie Music

Much like my vacation plans, my musical tastes are all over the map. Much like my interest in the diverse subjects of Western Americana and Dante Alighieri, my musical tastes are eclectic and strange. Both Western Americana and Dante are interesting, but neither has anything to do with the other.

My teenage years were in the 1980s, and that music, both new wave and heavy metal is, for better or worse, still the soundtrack of my life. So is the 1970s music of my childhood (Steppenwolf, The Who, Paul McCartney, The Doobie Brothers). Some of the 4th of July music is classical. I really like classical music, too.

I know. I am a conundrum.

In preparation for our trip, I went through all of the music I have stored on my computer in iTunes over the past few years and made a Road Trip Playlist for the iPod. I’m publishing it below. I realize that my musical taste may disappoint or shock some of you, but I like what I like.

I tried to include some road trip favorites (Roger Miller’s King of the Road) and some novelty songs (C.W. McCall’s Convoy) along with Western movie and tv soundtracks (Bonanza, The Magnificent Seven, Rawhide). I also added some Independence Day themed music (X- 4th of July), as we’ll be in traveling on July 4th. Then there’s the song I added for Thoughtful Husband’s ___th birthday, which we’ll celebrate while on the trip.

Finally — I guess I’ll just ‘fess up — I added some favorite country tunes. I believe I am the only citizen of the Bay Area who likes country music. It’s a lonely genre to love if you live here. Of course, being a citizen of the Bay Area, I also added some awesome surf music (The Dillengers’ cover of The Magnificent Seven). You’ll find almost a little of everything on this playlist. From Bruce Springsteen to Bing Crosby, from Van Halen to Van Morrison, from Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings to The Who, from Stewart Copeland and The Police to Aaron Copland, from Joe Jackson to Johnny Cash. You’ll find it all here. I hope you either enjoy it or will forgive me for my strange taste in music.

Song Name / Artist Name
Can’t Hardly Wait – The Replacements
Lost Highway – Bon Jovi
What About Now – Lonestar
Where the Streets Have No Name (Live from Rotterdam) -U2
Route 66 – Depeche Mode
Road Trippin’ – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Holiday Road – Matt Pond
Texarkana – R.E.M.
Life Is a Highway – Rascal Flatts
Road Trip – Gary P. Nunn
Forty Miles of Bad Road – Duane Eddy
Hot Rod Lincoln – Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen
Convoy – C.W. McCall
Going Mobile – The Who
Magic Carpet Ride (Single) – Steppenwolf
Rockin’ Down the Highway – The Doobie Brothers
Band On the Run – Paul McCartney
Kiss Me on the Bus – The Replacements
Secret Journey – The Police
Man in a Suitcase – The Police
Wanted Dead or Alive – Bon Jovi
The Big Country – The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra & Chorus & Crouch End Festival Chorus
The Good, the Bad & the Ugly – The International TV Orchestra
Rawhide – Frankie Laine
Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys – Waylon Jennings & Willie Nelson
I’ll Fly Away – Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
Ride Cowboy Ride – Riders In the Sky
Riding the Winds of the West – Riders In the Sky
Ghost Riders in the Sky – Riders In the Sky
Rodeo: IV. Hoe-Down – Michael Tilson Thomas & San Francisco Symphony
Let the Day Begin – The Call
Home Town – Joe Jackson
Who Says You Can’t Go Home (Featuring Jennifer Nettles) – Bon Jovi & Jennifer Nettles
The Promised Land – Bruce Springsteen
Take Me Home, Country Roads – John Denver
I Love This Town – Bon Jovi
Happy Birthday – Concrete Blonde
4th of July – X
I’m Free – The Who
Song of Freedom – Bing Crosby
Independence Day – Martina McBride
This Land is Your Land – Boston Pops Orchestra & John Williams
You’re a Grand Old Flag – Carl Davis, English Chamber Orchestra & Marilyn Horne
Top of the World – Van Halen
Old Dan Tucker – Bruce Springsteen
Happy Land – Peggy Duncan Singers
Melody of the Plains – Roy Rogers
Theme (From Little House On The Prairie) – Cathodic Orchestra
Unsere kleine Farm (Little House On the Prärie) – Various Artists
Theme from Little House on the Prairie – 101 Strings Orchestra
Lonesome Road – Madeleine Peyroux
High Summer – Van Morrison
Sunshine – Matt Costa
Move Along – The All-American Rejects
Six Days On the Road – Dave Dudley
Magic Bus – The Who
California Dreamin’ – The Mamas and the Papas
Heaven – Los Lonely Boys
California – Phantom Planet
The Boys Are Back in Town – Thin Lizzy

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chapter 210 Prairie Music

  1. Sarah Hollenbeck

    I think it’s great that your interests (both music-wise and book-wise) are not limited to a single genre; having such diverse tastes is a sign of a well-rounded individual.

Leave a Reply

