Chapter 77 Of Disbelief and Books about Books

I felt mortified enough to have admitted in yesterday’s post that I have been working on the Dante catalogue for a ridiculously long six months. Imagine my disbelief today when a non-bookselling friend who reads my blog said, “Didn’t you do a post about meeting an English bookseller at the ABAA Fair last February and telling him about the Dante catalogue? Isn’t that ten months ago?” Indeed I did and yes it is, and you can read about it here.

I can’t believe ten months have passed since the San Francisco ABAA Fair. (It seems like six to me, but I can’t quibble with the calendar.) In all fairness, the actual catalogue was a glimmer in my eye, an idea only, last February. I had many of the books, but little else and no idea whatsoever of how to go about writing a catalogue. I actually started studying other bookseller catalogues and writing descriptions of the books in July. Then I took the draft to the Colorado Antiquarian Book Seminar in August to have it critiqued. Then I decided to add another two dozen books and spent the past few months acquiring them. Now I have to write descriptions for those. And so it goes. Eventually, I expect to complete it, and I hope sooner rather than later. Expect a future post on steps to take when writing your first catalogue when the catalogue is finally finished.

In the meantime, here are links to completed catalogues from two of my favorite booksellers. First, Oak Knoll has a great list of biblio-mysteries (a genre I like because sometimes I learn something while I’m being entertained). Secondly, The Colophon Book Shop has put together a great list of Books about Books.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catalogues

Leave a Reply

