Chapter 61 On the Lookout

Like the cowgirl in the postcard picture below, I’m on the lookout — for a cure, that is.

lookout1.jpg

I’ve come down with a nasty cold. Congested, stuffy nose, hacking cough, sore throat. It prompted me to take out this little gem, which I found at the book fair in Sacramento in September:

mrs-winslow.jpg

In addition to household recipes, this 1876 edition has cures for “the hacking cough of consumption” (“bronchial troches”?), “worms in children” (Brown’s Vermifuge Comfits), and other pestilence like small-pox (yeast three times a day and milk – “nearly every case cured without a pock mark”), and “bed-bug poison” (an ounce of quicksilver mixed with two egg whites, in case you ever need to know, and I hope you don’t).

cures2.jpg

Now, I’m off to rest-up with a hot cup of Earl Grey. The book says, “A cough, cold, or sore throat requires immediate attention, as neglect oftentimes results in some incurable lung disease.” I’m a hardy sort. I’ll be back with a new post on Monday.

See you in the stacks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Finds

Leave a Reply

